skip navigation
Go Naked in the World

Go Naked in the World(1961)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Go Naked in the World A powerful businessman opposes... MORE > $18.95 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A great love story, poorly told

    • Tom Lalor
    • 9/24/17

    Tragic endings were rare for Hollywood in 1961. This movie needs one to be taken seriously. The nobility of Julie's final act is lost because the writing never defines the impossibility of her relationship with Nick. This is not Romeo and Juliet. Nor is it even Lady and the Tramp. What Go Naked... is is an attempt to explore a taboo relationship within the confines of the still-too-heavy censorship of the early 60's. Forbidden love is a well-traveled road in cinema. And the stories are always compelling. This one just could have been told better.

  • The Times, They are A-Changin'

    • el debbo
    • 8/25/15

    Yup, because back in '61 loving a shady lady brought scorn, but now it would be "She's a hooker? And you're getting married? Awesome!" If I stand back, away from this type of movie (the 'Butterfield-8' genre), I'm kind of glad society is erupting and asking why the men who use her are still pillars of society, but she's not worth loving? And just after this, new men began to emerge, like Jack Lemmon continuing to love Shirley MacLaine in 'The Apartment', although she'd been the boss's tart, it made no difference to "Miss Kubelik, I-adore-you" Jack. The world moved ahead, the playing field leveled out. That's standing BACK from this film. Getting up close, it was poorly written and over-acted and I got sick of Ernie going KABOOM every 15 minutes or so and I got tired of everyone being on a HEAD TRIP and taking 19 steps forward, then 20 back, then repeating the drill. But, Ms. Lolla's Helen Rose dresses were worth looking at, that was a big plus. If I ever watch it again, it will be with the sound off (speaking of which, Tony Franciosa sounds JUST LIKE he was dubbed by Tony Curtis--- I know, I watched 'Operation Petticoat' last night!) and I won't watch 'Go Naked' the last half hour or so. I give it three dim stars.

  • Wear Helen Rose in the world

    • Monica Berserk
    • 8/24/14

    Gina Lollobrigida's perfect hourglass figure, encased in a series of silken sheaths by Helen Rose, is about the only watchable thing about this picture. She plays a sexy but borderline matronly call girl known to every middle-aged millionaire in San Francisco whom Anthony Franciosa, supposedly a sophisticated playboy, mistakes for a convent girl who hangs out in cocktail lounges and whose phone rings all night long. His father, "Greek" Ernest Borgnine, wants Tony to go into the family construction business, and, oh, by the way, he's one of Gina's long-time clients. (For having sex with Borgnine, she should be able to afford a whole townhouse, not just swinging sixties studio pad.) Franciosa yells, Borgnine bellows, and Gina changes into another copy of the same dress in a different color with slightly different beaded trim. She must have had permanent lines across her shoulders from all those spaghetti straps.Franciosa's character might make sense if he were about 10 years younger, and Gina's tale might have a glimmer of interest if she had any backstory at all. (In the novel it turns out her character is a lesbian.) Borgnine is impossible, sweaty and shouty and constantly reminding us he's Greek. (The way the Greek community behaves in the picture should be grounds for anti-defamation action.)What's most incredible is that this glossy hooker soap opera premiered just four months after "Butterfield 8" came out, and it makes that not-very-good picture seem like "The Magnificent Ambersons" by comparison. People scoff at some of the career choices Elizabeth Taylor made after going independent, but had she stayed with Metro, she could have been stuck in this kind of dreck.I hope Lollobrigida got to keep all those Helen Rose dresses, because this lousy picture finished off her hopes of an American film career.

  • A Waste of Good Actors

    • Victoria
    • 3/16/14

    What a truly dreadful movie this is. I had never seen it before. Because of the good cast, I DVR'd it. I kept thinking...Who wrote this? Who directed this? The characters are all in need of heavy duty tranquilizers and psychiatric treatment. The Ernest Borgnine character is absurd with his constant screaming and complete inability to see any reality. Anthony Franciosa seemed way too old to have such an infantile relationship with his father. Even though he apparently had a successful Army career, it never occurred to him to get a job rather than beg for money from his father. He was at least 35 years old. I enjoyed Gina Lollobrigida's wardrobe. Otherwise this is an embarrassment.

  • Go Naked in the World

    • thomas
    • 3/14/14

    Go Naked is a free adaptation of Dumas fils' "La Dame aux camelias," with Gina playing a sort of Maria Callas, who played the part in the Verdi opera La Traviata.

  • Corny but good.

    • twinwillow
    • 3/14/14

    A typical late sixties/early seventies overacted love drama. With lot's of love and drama to be sure. A true classic of that time period.I Loved Ernest Borgnine but I sure do wish he wouldn't yell so much when he was talking.

  • please release on dvd

    • paola padilla
    • 9/5/12

    I hope this film gets released on dvd it is a true classic!!

  • airing of this movie

    • Rasheed
    • 8/20/12

    when will you air this movie

  • Go Naked In The World and Other Borgnine Films

    • Bruce Reber
    • 7/11/12

    With the passing of Ernest Borgnine TCM, I hope you'll set aside a day to show some of the great films from his long career, including Marty, The Catered Affair, Johnny Guitar, The Wild Bunch and Go Naked In The World, and some of his lesser known ones like The Mob, Man On A String and The Split. Thanks for all the great films you gave us, Mr. Borgnine. Hollywood's lost another legend.

  • Do not go naked into that good night.

    • DougieB
    • 3/19/09

    What's more fun than an early-60's potboiler struggling mightily to tell a sordid story under the very real constraints of the Production Code? Everything becomes coded, and the disconnect between the dialogue and the visuals can be hilarious. Add an ultra-glam visual style, and you've got a winner. I wouldn't necessarily have picked Gina Lollobrigida as the shady lady in question, but it turns out she does not disappoint. Far from it. She looks like someone whose phone would be ringing off the hook, like Liz in Butterfield 8, another good example of this genre. We first encounter Gina scampering out of a cab in front of an exclusive night spot, gibbering..French, was it?..to her "beau" and gesticulating wildly, a true woman of the world. A rather shabby girl of the streets who happens to be passing by catches Gina's eye and winks. Gina takes a moment to absorb the irony, then continues chattering as she is led into the club. You'll find yourself absorbing lots of irony too as this tale unfolds. Poor Gina eventually finds it impossible to put her past behind her, so she eschews her would-be fiance (whose father was also a part of her past) in favor of a plunge off a balcony into the waters below. Is it too hard-hearted to comment that her simple-white-dress, hair-pulled-back, no-makeup finale looks like it took hours in the makeup chair to achieve? Not that I would want Gina's curtain call to be anyhing but fabulous, after her spell-binding performance in this classic. See it next time it shows. You know you want to.

  • Love's Sacrifice.

    • Alicia
    • 9/14/07

    Unnderrated movie. Great story & cast. A story about the sacrifices people make for their loved ones & Guiliette gave the greatest sacrifice. Guiliette was not only beautiful on the outside but also inside. All she wanted was to be loved & love, but was afraid to let her guard down.

  • A Girl/Woman must carefully chose her lifestyle.

    • K.R. Wright
    • 9/13/07

    This story shows to a young girl/woman a consequence that "can" befall her when that girl/woman chooses the lifestyle of a call girl.

  • Fasination with Life "Go Naked In the World"

    • Jeannette
    • 8/31/07

    The movie drama called "Go Naked in the World", is one of those movies where a son (Anthony Franciosa), had fasination with life but the life he was fasinated with all the men in the city and even his father (Ernest Borgnine), all had an affair with and still enjoyed the fasination also it was none other then (Gina Lollobrigida). Very sad ending but she had no other choice I guess. Excellent movie that once you see you will want to see it over and over again.Thanks TCM for showing this movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.