skip navigation
Sweet November

Sweet November(1968)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Sweet November A woman refuses to let her... MORE > $15.95 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • 'Sweet November' (1968)

    • Eric Cummings, Jr.
    • 3/24/19

    Watching this movie I was absolutely enchanted by Miller's background scenery. Lower Manhattan's Centre Street and Brooklyn Heights - especially the Brooklyn Promenade in 1968 - forget about it! This is the same scenery my lady and I walked through and I compared the late '60s to today and it was magical! Watching the skyline with NO World Trade Center gave thought to the landscape of yesteryear and today. What I gathered from the film was no matter how hard it was for Sandy Dennis' character to uphold her strict code of being with a man for only a month, then on to the next one, she stood by it with the juxtaposition of Anthony Newley's incredulous reality of being in the very same position of Mr. October as Mr. December stood by at the very end. Incredibly thought provoking.

  • sweet november

    • roslyn
    • 11/29/15

    I love this movie!!! Anthony Newly and Sandy Dennis are GREAT!! It is a tearjerker.

  • Sweet November

    • Gerald Carter
    • 11/5/15

    I always like Sandy Dennis back then and how she played in some of the dark movies of the 60's like The Fox and Who's Afraid of Virginia Wolf. She was perfect for those times. I always searched for movies back then like these movies. They were great for that era.

  • Sweet, sweet November

    • Sarah
    • 9/28/14

    This was one of my favorite movies from the time I was a college student. It certainly is a bit dated now, but still gets me. I really like Anthony Newley's portrayal of Charlie! And when he says, "I'm brimful, Sara," oh my goodness! So wonderful!

  • Dennis is wonderful, Newley less so

    • Karl
    • 9/28/14

    I do like this movie so much. It's got that bittersweet quality that I associate with the best romances. Some folks seem to be put off by Sandy Dennis and her voice... but I think she's perfect for this character. She grows on you rather than being immediately attractive.The only thing about Sweet November that I kindasorta dislike is Anthony Newly. He's just too much for me. I'd have preferred someone a bit less flamboyant (is that the right word?).

  • I watch it every Christmas.

    • Bonnie
    • 6/11/14

    Love this Movie. Sandy Dennis has the perfect quirky personality to pull it off. I used to wait for it to be shown every Christmas. Then they replaced it with the remake which didn't have the same sense of fun or emotion. This is a lovely, lovely film that I have watched out for, to see again, every x-mas. It's only shown at Christmas because one of the final scenes is in December and there are decorations. You will remember it fondly, once you've seen it.

  • Better than the remake

    • Dwayne
    • 7/1/13

    Even though Sandy Dennis' voice can be annoying I still enjoyed this movie. I'll take her whinny voice any day over Keanu Reeves' cardboard acting in the remake. I could not understand why she would still send Charlie away after all the progress their relationship had made but after thinking harder about it I came to the conclusion that she did not want him to experience the heart ache that would result from her untimely death. Besides her seeming selfish about her arrangement every month, I thought this movie had a lot of heart and if your not careful you may even shed a tear at the end.

  • Sandy Dennis is not sexy. Her voice is whinny.

    • denscul
    • 6/30/13

    If you want to really hear a whinny actress, watch the Out of Towners with Jack Lemmon. She is more believable in this role because she is playing a role that suited her better, as a mother and wife of a character played by Lemmon who was full of himself and she acted as an anchor. In this film, she is playing a character that I did not like. Casual sex is not love, or romance. Its just sex, not that there is anything wrong with giving into one of our natural instincts. However, since I want to murder someone every other day; the jerk who cuts you off, the boss who is an idiot, and sometimes even your teen age son. But despite the urge, its just not done because lets face it, casual sex is not romantic, its often disastrous, it usually hurts someone, and in a film, book, or play, its not heroic. Perhaps the most interesting thing about this film, is the fact that Dennis dies in the film, and in real life before her time. Now that's really sad.

  • Sweet November Blues...

    • Edward J Burns
    • 11/19/12

    Sweet November is one of the most beautiful romantic tragicomedies ever made! This movie will make you cry if you allow yourself to really become emotionally involved with the two main characters. The chemistry between the two actors and their "sweet" interaction will make you laugh and cry. The lines are very, very clever, especially those of Charlie Blake, the "Hurry, Hurry, Ding, Ding Man!" The music and the panorama of Manhattan from Brooklyn Heights is so memorable for anyone who knows the area from that era and even today. It is really a play because most of the action takes place in Sarah's very mod artist type appartment. New York in the 1960's was still a place you could easily move around in and the movie displays that very nicely. I have a ritual of watching this movie every November which gives me the "Sweet November Blues" at the end because I must wait another year until I can enjoy the director's artistry of a movie again. The final scene with Charlie walking around aimlessly where he and Sarah used to walk lovingly together is so perfect. As Charlie walks out of the final scene, the cold December wind howls, symbolicaly suggesting the coldness of young Sarah's untimely and impending death. They do not make movies like this anymore. That is why the remake did not make the grade...

  • I wanted to like it

    • Ellen
    • 7/10/10

    Unfortunately, I found Sandy Dennis' voice whiny and her dialog predictable. It reminds me of several other movies of that time about so-called free thinkers. One of the best was Harold and Maude-- at least Ruth Gordon was likeable. In this one, the character Sarah is trying so hard to be liberated that it is painful. You want to shake her and tell her to get over herself.

  • Love It!

    • "Rocks"
    • 7/10/10

    I disagree w/Antonio's summation- yes, Sara falls in love every month,but she herself admits that what she feels for Charlie is diffrent and special. She's afriad to let herself love anyone,because she's dying. So there's no way she'll fall in love w/Gordon...she may not even be around long enough!Still, it's a really sweet film!

  • clever script: great dialogue

    • linda parker
    • 1/2/08

    One of the wittiest scripts ever. "You'll always be Pinnocio - you'll never be a real boy" or some such line. Since it is not available on video (dvd) that is paraphrased. Anthony Newley acually likeable in this movie - and Sanda Dennis always wonderful and under-rated. Even Theo Bikel does not overact. And the ending is not sappy.The remake was crapola.

  • sweet film /sweet november-1968

    • SANDRA SIEDEL
    • 9/7/07

    this uplifting film -contains romance,hope,laughter,and good acting i would love to buy this film on DVD pleasei dont like the remake of sweet november (sweet november-1968 (SO GOOD)- THANK YOU, SANDY

  • You got it wrong.

    • antonio zacchero
    • 7/27/06

    your synopsis is inaccurate in the mostcrucial detail. Sara is not truly in love for the first time with Charlie. Sara falls in love like this every month.Every month is a mini-lifetime. This happens every month. Every man thinks that he will be the one to save her. It will happen with Gordon on New Year's Eve.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.