skip navigation
Chapter Two

Chapter Two(1979)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Chapter Two A widower risks his heart when... MORE > $17.95 Regularly $20.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Neil Simon's nadir

    • Will Fox
    • 1/17/15

    This is playwright Neil Simon's nadir. Forget his chronic sarcasm in "Plaza Suite," "California Suite," "London Suite," and his formulaically depressing deja vu. Rebounds are risky. Only two years after his zenith in "The Goodbye Girl" (1977 Oscar and Golden Globes) Simon's "Second Chapter" starts smart, then plummets into plastic, pseudo-psychological pap, regurgitating case-study self-pity. This has the warmth of a cold, wet blanket. Remember the kids' game, SIMON SAYS? Here he says he is "stuck" in smothering self-indulgence. That is why Leonard Maltin, after 45 years of publishing movie reviews, rates Simon's "Second Chapter" at below average, only two stars. But, there is good news. The silver lining to this dark cloud is TCM's January guest host on Friday nights introducing Neil Simon's shows. As the acclaimed producer of TV's "M.A.S.H." and "Fraser," classic comedies, Mr. Ken Levine's intelligent insights inspire tuning in regularly. Thanks TCM for inviting Ken Levine to share his enlightenment with us.

  • Chapter 2

    • Chapter2
    • 4/26/13

    BRAVO..........OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE

  • Chapter Two

    • Brian
    • 4/26/13

    I love this movie, I had requested this movie to be played on TCM but i am uncertain if the movie was aired or not. perfect performance by both actors.

  • A wonderful movie

    • shelly
    • 7/28/11

    This is such an wonderful movie about the ups and downs of love. Simply wonderful, well acted and extremely well cast... WHEN WILL THIS MOVIE BE PUT ON DVD !

  • Love This Film!

    • Erik
    • 5/8/11

    I love this film and I can't find it anywhere on DVD. I'm looking forward to it's release because I have to add it to the collection of my favorite films! I highly recommend this movie. Fantastic dialogue and a great comedy/drama for adult audiences.

  • Sophistication and class

    • Gillian
    • 4/14/10

    This movie has great writing, great acting, great music, and hits the mark for sophisticated romance. It is class all the way around and evokes 1980 perfectly. The witty dialogue reminds me of what is sorely lacking in today's screenplays. Romance does not have to be graphic when a talented writer teams up with talented actors. Please release on DVD so another generation can enjoy this quality film.

  • Mason's wonderful speech near end

    • Kari D.
    • 2/20/10

    The snappy dialogue, Mason and Caan, Bologna and Harper, so much fun, yet a serious relationship lesson or two, New York and Bermuda. I saw it on Broadway and loved it. The movie was even better. I want this on DVD, please!!

  • Absolutely Wonderful!

    • Debbie Crawford
    • 2/1/10

    Bravo! Mason and Caan, are great together in this movie, I cannot believe its not on DVD, this is a gem of a movie.I am so surprised TCM is showing this movie in Feb, 2010!Great choice Robert O, you could not have chosen a better movie to treat your fans too. Marsha Mason is a superb actress. Love Caan in this one as well, dont know the name of the guy who played his brother, he was just wonderful to watch, I love his wit and inuendos.DVD Please!

  • Show this movie

    • Tony
    • 11/8/09

    What else can I say but see this movie. Where else should you fall for a woman, but in New York City.

  • A must for DVD

    • Joe
    • 7/2/09

    This a hidden gem. It is one of both James Caan's and Marsha Mason's best movies. They both have lesser movies on DVD so please put Chapter Two on DVD immediately.

  • Chapter Two

    • Sarah
    • 4/11/09

    What will it take to get this movie on DVD? There are so many others on DVD that are just ok, and this is a great feel good movie. This is my second write in. Please release on DVDThanks

  • Chapter Two on DVD

    • doebohana
    • 10/5/08

    Please release this movie on DVD. It is such a great film. Marsha Mason is phenomenal and a great actress. It's unfair not to share with the fans.

  • Movie release on DVD

    • Sarah
    • 6/19/07

    Please release this movie on DVD. I have purchased it twice on VHS because of playing it so much. Please.........release on DVD. I choose chapter Two for my email address because of my love for it. It was taken, so I went with chapter03.Thank you in advance

  • James Caan and Neil Simon???

    • Pat
    • 10/17/06

    It works. Marsha Mason is playing her own life and is wonderful as is Valerie Harper. I love the story, the conflicts, the brother relationship, the closeness of the friends. It deserves to be rereleased on dvd!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.