skip navigation
The Unsinkable Molly Brown

The Unsinkable Molly Brown(1964)

Contribute

FOR The Unsinkable Molly Brown (1964) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Unsinkable Molly Brown Musical biography of the... MORE > $17.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • What Ben M. said

    • Christine
    • 8/19/11

    Hi David, I'm not trying to contradict you about the Shirley McLaine story you told about Shirley having the role and Debbie taking it away from her, but Ben M. just said in the intro that Shirley was under contract to Hal (someone) and couldn't have gotten the role anyway because Hal (somebody) wouldn't let her out of her contract anyway. So, I have no idea, but Debbie is great in this role and I don't know how good Shirley would've been. Anyway, this was a new bit of trivia to me and it's a very interesting story.

  • Unsinkable, indeed

    • Stephen K
    • 8/19/11

    I had the great pleasure of interviewing Ms. Reynolds for my hometown newspaper when she came here to perform her one-woman show. She was down-to-earth and gracious. If you ever have the chance to see Ms. Reynolds live, go for it! She puts on a heckuva show! As for Molly Brown, she makes no secret that she treasures this role. Small wonder. She pretty much owns it. The real Molly, by the way, was quite a formidible woman herself.

  • the unsinkable molly brown

    • cindy
    • 6/8/11

    Please make this available for purchase-such fond memories of mom and I watching musicals when I was little and growing up...I would LOVE to share this movie with mydaughter now. Thanks!!!

  • the unsinkable molly brown

    • susan belair
    • 6/7/11

    THIS IS MY FAVORITE MUSICAL WHEN DO YOU THINK IT WILL BE AVAILABLE FOR SALE I HAVE BEEN TRYING FOR OVER A YEAR TO FIND THIS DVD. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHEN I CAN GET IT ALSO IF YOU DO NOT HAVE IT MAYBE YOU KNOW SOMEONE WHO DOES. THANK YOU

  • Debbie Reynolds returns to MGM in Triumph

    • David Atkins
    • 11/20/10

    MGM contract star Debbie Reynolds left that fabled studio and freelanced in the early 60's. Seeing a great opportunity, Debbie eagerly chased the role of a lifetime in "The Unsinkable Molly Brown" and runs away with the picture and was given an Oscar nomination for this big hit for MGM and Reynolds. I enjoyed this film and it is rousing entertainment. Harve Presnell co stars.Back Story: Shirley MacLaine felt she had the role of Molly Brown and angrily confronted Ms. Reynolds about "stealing the star role from Shirley". Debbie got it anyway even with director Charles Walters siding with MacLaine and begging Debbie to forego the role.

  • The Unsinkable Molly Brown (1964)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/16/10

    It's a good story, but as a biography it is insulting and highly fictional. It is way too overblown and Debbie Reynolds, although I admire her energy and perkiness, gets mighty irritating after awhile. How she got an Oscar nomination for this escapes me. The production is lavish, some catch tunes, gaudy bit creative costumes and art direction. Hardly accurate period flavor.

  • Totally Enjoyable

    • Dee
    • 4/2/06

    This is my favorite movie of all time. No other movie gives me the pleasure like this one when some is able to survive inspite of life's difficulties (and do it with such entertaining vitality). Thank You Debbie for one of the few pictures that makes me feel like, "YES, I can make it!"

  • Outstanding

    • Tina Anderson
    • 3/29/06

    This has been one of my all time favorites since I can remember. (But then I like all of Debbie's movies.)

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.