skip navigation
Strangers When We Meet

Strangers When We Meet(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Peggy Lee - "Is that all there is?"

    • el debbo
    • 6/21/17

    Must have been how Kim Novak's character felt at the end. I think Kim 'n Kirk acted their parts wonderfully...you could feel the magnetic pull. The house being built was in real life the love nest of Ernie Kovaks Edie Adams. Kovaks was good, but watching him in the initial restaurant scene chewing bacon, smoking and drinking coffee all at the same time was challenging. One eatery location was Romanoff's. The score was beautiful. Overall, I liked the movie but felt the plot was thin and the main characters under-developed.

  • Strangers When We Meet

    • Kathy J Barrie
    • 11/28/14

    This is an amazingly wonderful, interesting version of what "old Hollywood" movies are all about. It is a CLASSIC!!! When, on when, will TCM once and for all, finally....finally...finally show this on their classic tv station. Stop repeating all the others - show this movie. It has been requested for years. Purchase it.. And show it in TCM!!/Thankyou

  • Suburban L.A.

    • Dan Lunham
    • 9/1/14

    TCM should make this one standard during KIm Novak, Kirk Douglas, and Barbara Rush tributes, even that of Walter Mathau. Chemistry rules here, even if the plot's thin on why Kim and Kirk drop everything for it. At the end, you wind up rootin' for 'em. Kim's last scenes with him rank at the top of her best; you just know why he 's fallen in love, and I was right there with him. It's also fun to see it played out in 1960 suburban West L.A. and Malibu, the SoCal sunlight filtered through a light smog/fog haze, the wide car-culture boulevards, the one- and two-story earthquake-code buildings, the strip malls, the single-family homes and well-trimmed yards--brought me back to my own early neighborhood there where and when it was all about the kids; and family's a big part of the film's MacGuffin, really the main antogonist pitted against their true love. Makes the tension, for me, that much more real and heartbreaking. Let's get the campaign rolling for frequent showings.

  • Please show this movie!

    • georges girl
    • 8/15/14

    It' s been years since I've seen this film but it was a terrific ( albeit a soaper) movie. The combination of Douglas & Novak was perfect and held the viewer's interest to the very end ...loved this movie!

  • Great love story!!

    • Karen
    • 2/8/14

    I saw this movie long ago. I would love to see it again. Better yet, I would love to be able to purchase this movie on DVD. I'm sure there are others that would like to purchase it also.

  • Strangers When We Met

    • Marianne
    • 8/11/13

    I saw this film a long time ago, and would LOVE to TCM play this classic movie..so good, such great actors!!

  • Sexy sexy!!

    • Teresa
    • 6/8/12

    I would love to see this on TCM, I saw this many years ago on TV and just loved it! Kirk Douglas is soooo hot and MANLY sexy! Boy they don't make men like him anymore! Kim Novak is perfectly cast in this sexy love affair.I love movies from this time period, it always reminds me of my childhhod. A simpler life and a kinder people. A great escape from the times we live in today. And VERY sexy!!Kim was wonderful in "Picnic" as well another favorite of mine. PLEASE TCM run this movie so I can set my DVR and watch over and over. Strangers when we meet!!! Awwww

  • Kirk Douglas Is Hot!!!

    • Julie
    • 4/1/12

    I think of all romantic leads of all time, Kirk Douglas beats them all. When I was a teenager and I use to see his movies, my heart use to pound when I saw him in Spartacus or this movie. I still get goose bumps when I see him in any romantic lead. He is the greatest.

  • Very Fine Film

    • David
    • 10/10/11

    I was very surprised with what a great film this is. The acting is superb. Kim Novak is directed and cast perfectly. I thought that she would be far too glamorous, but her acting is so good that her beauty does not detract from the film. Kirk Douglas is great too. The story is still relevant. At first I expected this to play out like a Douglas Sirk film, but it is not that way. I did wonder if "Far From Heaven" was influence by this one. One has to wonder why Maggie's husband has no interest in her. Is he hurt from previous affairs, is he a repressed homosexual? This fact makes her character more sympathetic, but by the film's end, I decided that she was just selfish and a cheater. I really enjoyed this film and I will watch it again.

  • Strangers when we meet

    • deborah green
    • 10/8/11

    I have never seen the entire movie only bits and pieces. But what i did see was great. Would love to see this movie on TCM at a reasonable time not after 12 midnight. Is this movie available for sale thru TCM, would love to have this!

  • strangers when we meet

    • delisa
    • 9/22/10

    Totally worth watching. this movie should still be the topic even in this century. I learned a lot. While being married 30 years this situation stll can happen anytime to any marriage. Wow what a wakeup topic. Kirk Douglas was worth watching anytime.

  • New Home!

    • Jack
    • 12/19/08

    If I remember right one of public relations given to this film was, that the home that was being built during the filming, was actually Ernie Kovacs and Edie Adams new home. Can anybody confirm this?

  • Kim Novak Superb

    • David Atkins
    • 8/4/08

    Kim Novak was #1 at the Boxoffice and the Queen of Columbia when she made this film. While some have dismissed Miss Novak's ability, I for one consider Her one of the Movies most underrated stars. Richard Quine who loved Kim deeply and directed Her very well in not only this film but also in "Bell Book And Candle" ( and would later direct her finale at Columbia "The Notorious Landlady") is at top form here. Also cast the rugged Kirk Douglas and very fine support from Barbara Rush and most of all Walter Mattaau. This is a wonderful movie from a bygone era starring one of the movies most romanctic, beautiful and skilled stars Kim Novak.

  • So Surprised at Strangers When We Meet

    • D Holmes
    • 4/18/08

    Before this movie, I had considered Kim Novak as only a film beauty with the acting ability of a piece of cardboard -- and Kirk Douglas as a study in over-rated overacting (except in The Strange Loves of Martha Ivers). In this movie, they both sailed off the screen -- I was so impressed. Had never heard of, nor seen this movie before. What a little jewel! Thanks for bringing this gem to me. Love TCM.

  • Passionate Love

    • Jeannette Bennett
    • 4/14/08

    With so many great love stories that has been shown on TCM this one stands out as a great love classic from them all. I love the way Kirk Douglas so smoothly talks to Kim Novak who will get caught up again like before over another man which is married Kirk Douglas. Her husband is not taking care of the husband duties at home she wants to needed and desire and the husband gives poor excuses for not wanting her. Well of course this affair can not work and will not work for the two of them but it was still a great movie to get lost in and see again and again. Thank you TCM for showing this fine movie. Love the theme song too.

  • THE ULTIMATE CLASSIC

    • JANET
    • 2/9/08

    I LOVED THIS MOVIE THE FIRST TIME I SAW IT AND I WOULD LOVE TO SEE IT SHOWN OFTEN. THIS IS DEFINITELY HOLLYWOOD AT ITS BEST. THIS IS THE TYPE OF MOVIE THAT WE SHOULD BE ABLE TO SEE ON TCM. THERE ARE SO MANY LIKE THIS THAT ARE NEVER SHOWN. HOLLYWOOD OF THIS ERA CAN NEVER BE REPEATED.

  • Simple but so refreshing

    • Joyce
    • 10/6/06

    Kim Novak was the perfect candidate for this part and was a lot like the girl in Picnic because she did not chase and almost rebuffed her pursuer. When she was finally caught she never accepted more than what the male pursuer could offer. I never saw this movie but I loved it. Please show it again.

  • Ranks among the best of Kirk Douglas!!

    • Pete
    • 6/21/06

    Couldn't agree more with Mikes comments. A must see, TCM get moving on this one..

  • One of my favorites.

    • Sngly Bear
    • 4/23/06

    This is a great movie that captures a situation that may happen to more people that you might think.I also love the scenery of good old LA.

  • Great Novak/Douglas movie

    • Mike Looney
    • 2/12/06

    One of my very favorite movies. Have an autographed first edition of the book by Evan Hunter too. The overwhelming love between Larry (Douglas) and Maggie (Novak), both married to cold fish but each having small chidren, in 1950's suburbia, is further complicated by the mores of the times. The two leads make you feel the passion and the invevitable breakup hits you in the gut. When Larry's builder mistakes Maggie for his wife, it's an extreme poignant moment rarely equaled in films. Timing is everything and for these two lovers, they missed it by just a few years. This flick is an overlooked gem (beautiful theme song too), highly recommended.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.