skip navigation
Two Girls and a Sailor

Two Girls and a Sailor(1944)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Two Girls and a Sailor Singing sisters create a World... MORE > $15.96 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great Musical

    • FrancineG
    • 4/29/18

    Durante-what a showman! (Hot-cha-cha-cha-cha)

  • Great musical variety show

    • TK
    • 3/25/14

    This movie has a bit of everything. Vaudeville, night club numbers, big band, Latin rhythm, light classical, and some goofball musical comedy. It's all wrapped around a love triangle involving June Allyson, Gloria DeHaven, and Van Johnson, but that's mostly just a vehicle to deliver two hours of nonstop musical entertainment. Put together a great ensemble of talent like the entire cast of this movie, turn them loose, and you can't go wrong.

  • the great schnozzola

    • Anth
    • 7/20/12

    Durante steals it, just watch him do Inka Dinka Doo - "what a guy"

  • Two Sisters and a Sailor is wonderful

    • Sarah F
    • 3/9/12

    I just saw this film for the first time and I hope not the last. The music was great and the acting was perfect for that time period. Light and fun with a twang of the heart.

  • Two Girls and A Sailor

    • Rebecca Noel
    • 3/9/12

    Captivating movie!I've watched this movie many times & never tire of it. June Allyson, Gloria DeHaven, Van Johnson, Jimmy Durante. So many talented stars to keep our interest throughout the movie! If anyone has an answer, I would love to hear from u! Amparo Iturbi goes by the name of Amparo Navarro in these credits. She is not listed as Navarro anywhere else. Not married. I loved her & Jose Iturbi (brother). Thanks.

  • Two Girls and a Sailor

    • Sandra Lee
    • 2/25/11

    I played the part of Jean Dayoe when I was a baby...my how time flies. I later was also War Bond Baby.

  • Muito bom

    • Sonia
    • 12/19/10

    Este filme muito bom. June Allyson realmente uma diva. Ela est adorvel no filme e Van Jonhson est muito bem. O roteiro bem simples. Um excelente filme para um bom entreterimento.

  • Two Girls and a Sailor

    • Michelle
    • 11/19/10

    ....sooooo who bought the warehouse for the girls? I just watched the entire movie and they never told who purchased the club?

  • Two Girls and a Sailor

    • Katie
    • 6/29/10

    I think the movie Two Girls and a Sailors is a great movie. I watch this movie all the time. It is one of my very favorites. And Van Johnson is such a great actor. Gloria and June did gave a wonderful performance in this movie too.

  • Van Johnson is still great!

    • Audrey
    • 7/11/08

    I enjoy all of Van's movies, he is still No. 1! Two Girls and a Sailor is a special favorite of mine, one of the first movies I saw him in. He and June were an idea couple. Another great one, though underrated, is The Bride Goes Wild, really funny and entertaining, unlike so many of today's movies! Thank goodness for TCM in remembering our old favorites!

  • a favorite movie of mine !

    • Mary
    • 7/10/08

    I was 14 when this movie came out..and how I loved it....and Van Johnson..myidol at that age. I made many scrapbooks of him..and saw him many years later in Milwaukee in the play Damn Yankees..and yes...he wore red sox ! loved the movieswith June Allyson and G de Haven also. Fun movies...and good to see again..as Idid last night on TCM.

  • I think this movie is good!

    • Evan
    • 4/9/08

    I skipped school to watch this movie since it was playing at 11:45am-2:00pm and it was the only time it was playing, so I decided to turn on my digital box and watch it! And I must say I'm glad I did. I'm a huge fan of June Allyson and I got her autograph before she died! She was a really nice lady. She gave me back my 20 dollars and said she'd give me the picture to me free!

  • Shocked when I heard & saw the name Deyo!

    • Barbara
    • 4/8/08

    I love old movies and had never watched this before - Van Johnson & June Allyson are always good and 'military' movies are big with me. However, when I heard and saw the name Deyo I couldn't believe it! That's my maiden name and it is a rather unusual one in real life, let alone in a movie. Wow! I enjoyed it very much - leaving things to the imagination and entertaining the audience with songs, sub-plots(Jimmy Durante) and just plain FUN. Today's movie makers should take lessons from the past - TCM and other 'old movie' channels aren't immensely popular for nothing!

  • Harry James at his BEST

    • Dot
    • 8/26/06

    Silly movie but one of the best collections of 1940's music available and I've seen most.

  • Wonderful Movie

    • Joe
    • 8/24/06

    Wondrful story of Love and Music. Not the nasty stuff they make today. June Allyson jump to stardom came from this picture and what a star she was. This is one I could watch again and again. Five star picture for anyone who still believes in true love.

  • Corny Plot but Great Music

    • tom
    • 2/15/06

    Most of the music performances in this film are great, and June Allyson and Gloria DeHaven are wonderful to look at, but the dialog leans toward the corny side. That should not keep people who like 40s musicals from watching this film. As with most MGM films, the production values are the best and the movie is very entertaining.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.