skip navigation
Words and Music

Words and Music(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Words and Music Songwriters Richard Rodgers... MORE > $15.79 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • words and music

    • kevin sellers
    • 1/22/15

    I realize that in 1940 you couldn't deal with Lorenz Hart's homosexuality, but still, even for its time, this is an indefensibly G rated look at an R rated person. Songs sure are great, though. Give it a C. P.S. For once, Mickey Rooney's scenery chewing works as Hart was apparently that kinda guy.

  • Mickey's acting deserves 5 stars!

    • Minnie Fleur
    • 10/8/14

    Mickey is 27 for this film, & his acting is truly impressive in a dynamic dramatic role. He portrays multiple facets of Mr. Hart's actions & personality. This is a strange film to view, because it features a few great singers & songs, & also some boring musical parts, & the story is contrasted by the undercurrent of Mr. Hart's vulnerabilities. Mickey gives such a human, real, & fragile performance-through his facial expressions, physical movements, & voice; & he switches back & forth from this state, to happy hopeful singing. This film couldn't exist w/o him. Lena Horne is spectacular, w/a voice that contains the full spectrum of femininity! Judy & Gene are fantastic, as always.

  • Love Words and Music!

    • Beth Hoover
    • 5/5/14

    This came out the year I graduated from HS, 1948. I thought the musical sequences were just stunning and of course enjoy the Rodgers and Hart music. The stars were very talented in what they performed, I thought, and cannot understand why it is not played more. They play "Gigi" frequently, and I am sick of it.

  • Worth only for the music

    • Anny
    • 6/26/12

    Saw the movie several times, but it is really the ballet Slaughter that is worth seeing and listening to you.But really I have a friend who plays it much better on the piano.

  • Thou Swell

    • tom
    • 9/6/09

    June Allyson and the Blackburn twins did a superb dancing and singing segment in the movie as well as Ann Southern. The movie is worth watching just for the music and dance. A DVD is now available and one can skip through the dribble that passes for the life of Rogers and Hart.

  • WOW!!! WHAT A BODY THAT GENE KELLY HAD!!!

    • Rachel
    • 6/11/07

    Although I watched a good bit of this movie, I didn't really care for it a lot, mainly because it was mostly about Rogers and Hart, rather than just a GENE KELLY movie. However, I did like GENE and Vera Ellen's number. GENE had a fantasticly built body! Although I have this on video, I, of course only watch that number in particular. I guess GENE was the most exciting part of the whole thing. Even at the end of the movie when GENE gives a brief speech concerning "Larry Hart," he looked so very handsome in his black suit. So to sum it up, GENE KELLY was my main reason for watching this movie, although it was an okay movie over all.

  • Slaughter on Tenth Avenue

    • Ann Brown
    • 2/26/07

    I would echo the recommendation to see this film in order to watch the Kelly/Vera-Ellen version of "Slaughter on Tenth Avenue," an apache dance of a NYC street romance. You won't want to miss this stunning finale to "Words and Music." Kelly challenged conventional ideas of the presentation of a full length ballet in terms of length of screen time and photographic angles. Kelly's version actually rivals Ballanchine's production starring his ultimate muse, Suzanne Farrell, in terms of choreography, technique, settings and costumes. A spiffy musical production!

  • One of the best musicals

    • Betsey Lowery
    • 8/13/06

    I had the vhs version of Words and Music and played it so much I wore it out. Now I cannot buy a replacement. The dance, Slaughter on Tenth Ave is one of the best dances I have ever seen in the movies. The songs and dances are as entertaining as those from Singing in the Rain and American in Paris. I would pay a premium to have a DVD of this movie.

  • Words and Music

    • Pat Martines
    • 6/21/06

    I never see any reference to Gene Kelly and Vera Ellen who performed the ballet"Slaughter On Tenth Ave" in the picture Words And Music. It is a magnificant piece of work by both Gene and Ellen.Also, How do I find out when TCM will be showing this picture, Words And Music?I rate this picture 10

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.