skip navigation
Only Yesterday

Only Yesterday(1991)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Best Movie

    • Paymon Khaleghi
    • 8/23/13

    Only Yesterday is such a emotional powerhouse like ever before. To tell you the truth I used to despise amines because of its weirdness and lifeless characters. But when I watch the film on the Internet (sadly spoke in Russian) I fully understand life and my childhood loliness. I never felt in my life connected to the main character Taeko, because of her not accomplishing her childhood like learn to behave,doing well at school, try to fulfill a dream of being in movies (personally me being a director) and many more of her life. Especially when she was at the age 27 when she had a choice between her old life(modernism) and her new life at the farm(romanticism) which brings her a huge turning point. My favorite part of the movie is the ending when she was at the train and the song the rose(in Japanese) and no dialogue or sound fx at this scene. It is so emotional because she sees her 11 year old of herself and makes a choice. I never cry once in any movie ever until this movie arrives and it is one of studio ghiblis best works. I brought the movie at amazon but it is in region 2 and please someone reading this tell Disney to distribute this film somewhere else so we can have a American release because this should be one of the great art films for me I give it 5 stars.

  • A Masterpiece

    • Marty Griffin
    • 5/13/10

    Do not dismiss this film simply because it is animated. It is one of the most profoundly human movies I have ever seen live action included. The film follows Taeko, a 27 year old office worker in tokyo. When she leaves for a vaction to the country she begins to have flashbacks of her ten year old self. Full of beautiful animation especially the country scenes(all hand drawn) Only Yesterday is not to be missed. Unfortunatly, Disney has chosen not to release this wonderful film in the United States.

  • Only Yesterday and other lost Studio Ghibli Films

    • Josh Reynolds
    • 8/24/09

    I am a huge fan of anime in particular Studio Ghibli I have seen every one of their films to date that have been released in america. Though I have yet to see Only Yesterday, Ocean Waves, Tales from Earthsea, and Ponyo on the sea by the cliffs. I know for certain that Ponyo and Earthsea shall see an american release but have only heard speculation on Only Yesterday release. So I Plead to you TCM please Reair Only Yesterday and if possible Ocean Waves I don't care if they are subbed or dubbed when you did a month of Miyzaki a few years back over night your Channel became the most popular amongst anime fans. I know you try to appeal to all demographics and film genras I suggest if possible airing these two films and air a month of films based on anime if you did this not only would you have my undying admiration but also those of fellow anime lovers and perhaps introduce a new film genra to your viewers

  • Takahata's most beautiful film

    • paperbullet
    • 1/27/08

    Director Isao Takahata, who also made "Grave of the Fireflies", has once again shown his mastery of telling a story simply and effectively. "Only Yesterday" is about Taeko Okajima, a 29-year-old unmarried woman living in Tokyo who is experiencing vivid memories of when she was 10 years old. Her memories range from the time she nearly became a stage actress to her experiences with her classmates. While taking a trip to the countryside, Taeko wonders why she is remembering that particular time in her life, and if her 10-year-old self has any lessons to teach her. Highly recommended.

  • Only Yesterday, Please!

    • Audrey Bucknor
    • 1/8/08

    TCM, please obtain the rights to this movie and show it on your network! I am a Miyazaki fan, and this is one of his best. This movie is so poignant and enjoyable. I am reminded of my own childhood in the 1960's, and find that I have a lot in common with Taeko. My young adulthood was not dissimilar to hew own as well. I own a collection of nearly all of his movies, in the original Japanese (which is the best way to view them initially). My copy of this one is damaged (how I received it) and I am missing nearly a half hour of the movie. I didn't realize how much was missing until the movie was aired on someone's network about two years ago. I believe it was you!

  • HOW IS THIS MOVIE IN THE TOP10?

    • Helen Petrone
    • 6/15/07

    SOMEONE HAS VOTED MORRE THEN ONCE!!!!

  • Beautiful and heartfelt

    • Per A J Andersson
    • 12/18/06

    This is beyond doubt one of the most exquisite of animated films. It presents both an overwhelming picturesque beauty and an interesting story out of everyday Japanese life. The juxtaposition of the present of a slightly bored office-lady (searching for a road-map of her life) from the 1980s' Japan with her remembering her own childhood is very nicely rendered. And the mode in which this childhood steps in to ultimately (Spoilers!) change the Taeko of the present is nothing short of brilliant. This is a film to take to one's heart. Whatever your personal opinion of the choices she makes...

  • Wonderful!

    • Daniel
    • 1/30/06

    A wonderful film with wonderful dialogue, animation, and score!

  • Sublime, profound.

    • jblacktree
    • 1/27/06

    Takahata, using muted, naturalistic colors and a drawing style that is both lyrical and realistic, dramatizes the way in which our past and the kids with whom we went to school,inform every moment of our present life as adults.The work is as carefully rendered as a novel, but its themes of love and family and vocation flower in lovely episodes that are exquisite, sometimes shocking, always alive with discovered truths.This is a masterpiece and belongs with the best work of Ozu, on film, and Kawabata in print.

  • Not a Miyazaki movie

    • thog
    • 1/27/06

    Despite the previous review (with whose critical comments I agree), this isn't a Miyazaki movie: it's by Miyazaki's long-time colleague and collaborator in Studio Ghibli, Isao Takahata.

  • Only Yesterday Not Only for the Young

    • sterling one
    • 1/26/06

    Mayazakisan's masterpiece is clearly the work of a genius who has found his voice. A fluent coming of age tale, about the the purging of childhood pain told through the eyes and heart of a strong but conflicted young woman; it is both complex and engaging. this classic anime film is enlivened through richly detailed urban settings and lovingly lush renderings of rural life. Mayazake creates a heartbreaking tension through a series of flashbacks of joyous and hurtful memories cross-lit by a present in which the young woman vactions in an 'organic' farming community. The universal experience of first love, the search for identity and the difficulty of cross generational relationships are fullly explored as we are taken on a journey of self-discovery, and allowed a window into the private world of a more gentle universe.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.