skip navigation
Beau Geste

Beau Geste(1939)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Beau Geste Three brothers in the French... MORE > $15.96 Regularly $9.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Brothers Geste!

    • Raymond Banacki
    • 9/4/15

    Just a shout-out to the young actors who were so marvelous as the Geste brothers - Donald O'Connor (Beau), Billy Cook (John), Martin Spellman (Digby) and the two other young actors, David Holt and Ann Gillis.

  • Beau Geste (1939)

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ****

  • Great movie from a great year !

    • Vinny Castellano
    • 7/17/09

    Beau Geste is another reason why 1939 is a landmark year in film history. It combined a suspenseful action drama with important messages on dedication, sacrifice, and family loyalty. Gary Cooper, Ray Milland, and Robert Preston remind me of the three principal actors in another 1939 classic Gunga Din. Two great movies I could see over and over again.Keep up the great movie menu, TCM!

  • Beau Geste, a wonderful movie!

    • Virginia
    • 7/17/09

    I had never seen this movie before, and didn't know it's story line. I am so happy I caught it. I was surprised by the many known actors in it, particularly a young Donald O'Conner and Ann Gillis, who starred as Becky Thatcher in "Tom Sawyer", as well as Susan Hayward, in what I believe was her first movie perhaps. This was a beautiful story of family devotion. I hope you will show it again.

  • Thank You, Thank You, Thank You

    • Scott Shelton
    • 7/16/09

    Thank you so much for finally showing this wonderful movie!! I'm only sorry I didn't know it was going to be on, so I could have seen it from the beginning. It is a great movie from a great movie year, and I hope all your viewers enjoyed it as much as me!

  • I Love It!!!

    • Ted
    • 7/16/09

    I wasn't aware that this would be showing already, I know... thanks to you folks via e-mail... that this movie finally became available on DVD. (Thanks for that). I hope we can get a heads-up on the next time you show it... hopefuly very soon. I hope one of my other favorites ("Viva Zapata") gets released soon as well. Thank you.

  • Didn't watch the whole thing

    • Lizzy
    • 6/11/09

    OK,s maybe I'm so obsessed with Don O'Con that I got this for two scenes.And Robert Preston.I just wanted to see what the world's bets star looked like at my age,but I watched a little more than that.It's good.Yeah.Nice.6/10.

  • Great acton movie!

    • Steven L. Mitchell
    • 10/5/08

    Last saw this movie as a boy. I'm now 58 years old. Should tell you something of the quality of this movie. Cooper, Milland, Preston, Denlevey, Hayward. What else can you say!

  • One of my favorites

    • SRB
    • 8/28/08

    I read the book and saw Beau Geste on television for the first time as a child. It would be great to have the opportunity to see it again.

  • Another great classic

    • Marilyn
    • 7/27/08

    from that Golden Year of great movies, 1939. That alone, should give it the umph needed to put onto the TCM schedule. Afterall, they, themselves have credited that year as the greatest year for movies. So all the greats from that year should be automatically placed into the lineup. This movie is definitely no exception to the rule. It is a masterpiece. It is up there with Gunga Din (same year). If given the chance, make sure you take part in experiencing this grand adventure into cinema history.

  • Why TCM doesnt or anyone airs this movie

    • Scott Shelton
    • 5/11/08

    I came across Beau Geste years ago when i was renting vhs cassettes. I watched it and i instantly loved it. The only way i could watch this movie was to hopefully rent it in the years to come. I just want to know why this movie is never in the TCM movie lineup. It is a favorite of mine, and would love to see it from time to time.

  • Why Not Beau Geste

    • Larry Davis
    • 4/18/08

    One of the best movies ever made!

  • Bea Geste DVD

    • Gene
    • 1/25/08

    When are you going to have a Bea Geste (1939) DVD only? I don't want the collection that is offered.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.