skip navigation
Casbah

Casbah(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A 50 Year Favorite

    • C. Carey
    • 1/21/13

    There should be a set of this and its predecessors: Charles Boyer's version with (I think) Hedy Lamar, and probably another one. A great plot and fun to watch the shadow photography.

  • CASBAH

    • Vince
    • 7/31/12

    I have been searching for a video for so many years w/o success. I was very very young when i saw it and have always wanted to purchase a video or see on Turner Classics. Does anyone know if Casbah was ever made into a video?

  • CASBAH

    • NATALIE PETRUCI
    • 3/18/12

    I LOVED THIS MOVIE, AND ALMOST FORGOT ABOUT IT TILL LAST NIGHT WHEN WE STARTED TALKING ABOUT IT. IS THERE ANY WAY I CAN BUY THIS MOVIE,OR IS THERE SOMEWHERE I CAN GO TO RENT IT... 1948 WAS A LONG TIME AGO, BUT I'M STILL HOPING I CAN SEE IT AGAIN... NATALIE

  • casbah

    • jeanne
    • 1/20/12

    I saw this movie when I was 14, and never forgot it. I've been waiting for years to see it again. I'm tired of seeing "Mr. Smith Goes To Washington" over, and over again.

  • Casbah

    • Gene
    • 10/1/11

    Saw this movie a long time ago, would love to see it againGood music good story and good acting Would like for it tocome out on DVD.

  • casbah

    • may ferrrone
    • 9/10/11

    when will this wonderful movie be seen again on turner classics..I have patiently waiting. and watching for it..I have enjoyed it back in the late forties and have not seen it since then.. Please let me know

  • Casbah

    • Dolores
    • 4/27/10

    LOVECASBAH,WOULD LIKE TO SEE IT AGAIN OR HAVE A TONY MARTIN MOVIE DAY

  • CASBAH 1948 - RATING A 4 STARS

    • CAROL
    • 4/3/10

    ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES....THIS MOVIE IS A RARE CLASSIC. PETER LORRE AND TONY MARTIN PLAYED IT TO THE HILT...I SAW IT IN MY EARLIER YEAR AND WOULD LIKE TO SEE IT AGAIN. CAN YOU TELL ME WHEN IT WILL SHOW ON TCM OR IF IT WILL AIR ON TCM. AND WHEN OR IF YOU ARE POSSIBLY TRYING TO GET IT ON DVD.

  • Casbah 1948

    • Brenda
    • 3/8/10

    One my favorite Saturday afternoon movies as a child. I saw it again but years ago and would LOVE to see this movie again. It was one of the MOST romantic and memorable of all the great noir films that were on TV in the 50 and 60's

  • My favorite film

    • Bill Fletcher
    • 1/3/10

    This film based on the earlier "Pepe Le Moko" and "Algiers" combines crime, romance and the exoticism of its setting with a score by Harold Arlen and Leo Robin at their best. As is common today but not when it was made, the music serves to further the plot of "Casbah".In my opinion, all the actors, especially Martin and the beautiful Marta Toren (who died way to soon) perfectly epitomized their characters. DeCarlo and the always fascinating Lorre provide strong performances as well. John Berry (who was sadly black-listed and moved to Europe)did a fine job directing.The film was once available on VHS and I was fortunate enough to make a copy but the quality is poor. Those of us who appreciate "Casbah" should lobby for its release on DVD.It would provide a tribute to Martin, now still performing in his 90's ,who was one of the the picture's producers as well as its star. "Pepe" is said to have been his favorite role.

  • TONY MARTIN AT HIS BEST!

    • EVYLYN
    • 12/13/09

    I love this movie and haven't seen it in many years. I am very sure there are many out there that would like to see it.

  • It's a very good movie!

    • Judith Kay McGee
    • 7/13/09

    "Casbah" is a terrific little film: it contains Tony Martin's best film role, a first-class Harold Arlen score, the beautiful Marta Toren and Yvonne de Carlo, and a memorable supporting roles by Peter Lorre, Katherine Dunham and her dancers (including Eartha Kitt).

  • Casbah

    • John
    • 7/13/09

    I too share your view. If you come upon a copy please let me know. I understand that Universal Studios does not intend to release it!

  • A Long Time to Remember

    • Robert Forst
    • 7/6/08

    I could not have been more than 11 or 12 when I saw this movie in San Francisco during its downtown run. Except for knowing and liking Tony Martin (and Yvonne de Carlo even more)from the radio and maybe a few movie sightings, I know little about him.But I loved this movie, even if it was a semi-musical. I thought Martin sang beautifully and Peter Lorre was great as his police nemesis.In particular I was taken with the song "What's Good About Good-Bye" and stopped whatever I was doing whenever I heard it on the radio.I've been a movie buff for years and have seen "Casbah" only once since I was a little boy - when my wife and I were living in Reston, Virginia - near Washington, DC. I made my wife sit up to see it on a late showing. Encouragingly, it started with another song I remembered from the original film - "For Every Man There's a Woman." From that point on all sings were eliminated - there was a reprise of the opening number but nothing else. At one point Martin does hum a few bars of "What's Good About Good-Bye." I was reminded of this film and Martin's excellent performance in it when his wife, Cyd Charisse, died. If anyone knows where one can get a copy of his finest film performance, I would appreciate knowing. Thanks.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.