skip navigation
Gambit

Gambit(1966)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Gambit A man dreams of the perfect... MORE > $18.36 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • gambit

    • kevin sellers
    • 1/8/18

    A kinder, gentler caper comedy from director Ronald Neame that is notable both for its absence of violence and sex and for interestingly subverting its genre by having the character you think will be the villain, Herbert Lom's wonderfully played Richest Man In The World, turn out to be the most humane character in the film. For these pleasant surprises this film is worth watching. On the debit side you have the comedic talents of both stars woefully under utilized and aside from Lom there are no subsidiary characters of any interest. So let's give it a solid B 'cause I'm a big Ronald Neame fan ("Tunes Of Glory" "Horses Mouth" etc.).

  • a fitting title.

    • a.morris
    • 12/31/17

    Michael cane does not deserve the title of sir. he survived working with Shirley maclane ..I say he is a saint.

  • A GREAT if slightly quirky film

    • Ralph DeMattia
    • 1/11/14

    I haven't seen GAMBIT in many years, but remember it as an interesting, VERY entertaining, and pleasantly quirky film. It grabs you right away and keeps you interested with fine acting, a dramatic plot, and an unsuspected ending that will leave you DEMANDING that it be released on DVD ASAP!

  • NOSTALAGIA

    • MUHAMMAD SABIR
    • 8/24/11

    can' t forget it . bought a perfume named " gambit" and it all came rushing to me, the statute and the beautiful girl, pretending to be a resemble, a thief, a hiest, a millionire and a copy maker all mixed up., with a surprisingly happy ending. that is how a best movie should be. they are going to make a remake, but Diiaz is no substitue for shirly mclain, she does not have teh charm and it will only ruin the whole charm of the classic.

  • Wonderful, Fun Movie

    • Annette Clayburn
    • 5/24/11

    I loved this movie; wish I could see it again. It has a great surprise ending. Why isn't it on DVD?

  • Caine & MacLaine

    • Veronica Woods
    • 2/28/10

    I love this movie. There is such great chemistry between Caine and MacLaine. It has a very inventive story line and is superbly acted. It is a thoroughly enjoyable film.Please make this available on dvd. I would love to include this in my film library.

  • Gambit on DVD

    • Stanislaus Stewart
    • 11/2/09

    Damn good, no, great, movie. Don't know why it's not on DVD

  • Caine's Gambit...

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/18/06

    An enjoyable, clever movie. It's fun to watch Michael Caine, Shirley MacLaine and Herbert Lom in this fantasy versus reality comedy.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.