skip navigation
The Glass Menagerie

The Glass Menagerie(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Glass Menagerie

    • Susan Shimp
    • 4/17/14

    Wonderful Movie!!! Can't wait for it to be played on TCM so my husband can enjoy it, too!!!

  • The Glass Menagerie

    • Brian Bean
    • 2/3/13

    Despite critical carping about G.Lawrence's performance, to my mind this is a great film with superb acting of a kind that's no longer seen nowadays. Arthur Kennedy acts out of his skin in a performance that is totallyconvincing; as do the rest of the cast. Kirk Douglas shows just why he was marked for stardom and Jane Wyman is heart-breakingly touching as Laura, the crippled daughter of Gertrude Lawrence's character. What makes the film so remarkable is the sharp character observation of each of the performers. It's a scandal that while so much rubbish is being churned out on DVD, this masterpiece remains unavailable.

  • The Glass Menagerie

    • Kathleen
    • 12/8/11

    I, too, like all the other reviewers, have been awaiting a DVD release. This movie is too wonderful not to be known more.

  • The Glass Menagerie

    • Rondi Ann
    • 7/6/10

    This has been my favorite movie for years, and it is so sad that is not available to purchase. I loved it so much that I named my daughter after the character of "Laura" played so wonderfully by Jane Wyman. Please release this classic on DVD so I may be able to purchase it and give it to my daughter some day as a classic to remember.

  • glass menagerie

    • rosanne
    • 5/22/10

    i have been looking 4 this movie to come on on tape or dvds for years. i would like to share this movie with the daughters. i saw this movie with my dad on tv one night and have remerber it all this time. we need this movie to come out.. is anyone listening thank u rosanne

  • A lovely movie

    • Kalena
    • 4/2/09

    I too remember this movie fondly from my days of youth. What stands out to me is Kirk Douglas' performance of his portayal of a man who brings shy Jane Wyman out of her shell. I loved his character and it's just a really sweet movie that would appeal to many women.

  • Wonderful Classic.

    • Alicia
    • 9/24/07

    I saw this movie when I was very young & it left such an impression on me. The image that always stands out in my mind is the brother walking out on his mother & sister. Fine acting by all. This is by far the best version. Why is this version not on dvd?

  • A Classic!

    • Patricia Parker
    • 4/3/07

    I have been looking for this film for years. Gertrude Lawrence as the mother was superb. Jane Wyman and Kirk Douglas in a true classic. I hope it is released on DVD soon, or shown on TCM.

  • wonderful story

    • Doreen
    • 2/11/07

    the last time I saw this movie I was living in Detroit and Bill Kennedy @ the movies showed this wonderful story. It made you believe that reguardles of your life's situation you could rise above it. Please put it out in DVD or VHS. This was a small part for Kirk Douglas and I believe his true start!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.