skip navigation
Key Witness

Key Witness(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • KEY WITNESS

    • Lolo
    • 6/5/12

    I saw this movie in 1960 and forgot the plot but never forgot the music, ran straight down and bought the 45 the song is called Ruby Dooby Du and lost it through the years but still think of the music and would LOVE to see this movie again..PLEASE..........

  • KEY WITNESS

    • Lois
    • 4/13/11

    Loved this film when it first came out especially the music, ran right out and got the 45rpm lost it thru the years but never forgot the great guitar piece PLEASE show this movie again!!

  • key witness

    • jose moro
    • 9/23/10

    great movie and sound track. Is it out on dvd. If not when will it come out on dvd. I give this movie 5 stars with 2 of the geatest actors of today. Jeffry Hunter and Denis Hopper, and of corse the rest of the cast. Please tell me it will be release soon. thanks.

  • Key Witness

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 4/7/10

    Very good juvenile crime drama where the juveniles are clearly in their early 20s. Great performance by Frank Silvera as the detective. Silvera was perhaps the only black actor I've ever seen to play white roles in that era.

  • Recording of music wanted

    • Joyce Foss
    • 6/17/08

    I saw the movie when I was 15 and loved the music backround and remember it more than the movie. Is there anyway to get a copy of that or a copy of the movie to just be able to listen to the music?

  • GOOD YEAR FOR JEFFREY HUNTER

    • CARMINE FINAMORE
    • 7/1/07

    I ALSO WAS 8 YEARS OLD WHEN MY DAD TOOKMY MOM AND I TO THE DRIVE-IN,TO SEE ''KEYWITNESS''.I THOUGHT IT WAS A COOL MOVIETHEN AND NOW.I GUESS TODAY'S KIDS WOULDTHINK IT TO BE WEAK AND CORNY.KEY WITNESSIS VERY SPECIAL TO ME BECAUSE IT'SINSTRUMENTAL THEME ''RUBY DUBY DU''BYTOBIN MATHEWS,WOULD BE MY FIRST 45 RECORDTO OWN IN 1960.THAT YEAR I WAS ALSO LUCKYTO SEE JEFFREY HUNTER IN ''HELL TO ETERNITY'' AND ''SERGEANT RUTLEDGE''. THANK YOU TCM FOR SHOWING KEY WITNESS.I RECOREDED IT THREE TIMES DURING THE FEWTIMES YOU'VE SHOWN IT. STILL,I'M HOPINGFOR A REAL DVD RELEASE.

  • On His Way "Dennie hopper" in Key Witness

    • Jennie P
    • 6/2/07

    I saw this movie in the Drive-in when I was 14, then 3 times more...I looked everywhere for this movie, thinking am I the only teenager at that time to see it!. Glad I signed on to TCM...C'mon Ted please! please! find it..

  • Key witness - great movie

    • lee douglas
    • 3/6/07

    I actually saw this movie on a doublebill with "101 Dalmations" - I was 8 years old. I don't know how those 2 movies relate. When I saw the trailer recently, I remembered what a great movie it is. It is especially interesting in that this has to be oneof Dennis Hopper's first films. I have tried to find the movie on DVD, with no luck. Hopefully it will be replayed on TMC soon.

  • Great Cars

    • Denis
    • 10/30/06

    I saw this movie in the theater when it came out in 1960. A buddy and I cut classes from school to go downtown, and that was the movie we chose to see. We were only 12 years old at that time. Nothing like sneaking off to the movies for hot dogs and pop, and having to lie to the cashier by saying we were 13 to get in. Maybe that's why I enjoyed the film so much. The 60's were turbulent times in the U.S.and to a lesser extent, Canada, and I think this film does a good job of portraying those times. The theme works well and could be re-done today (and probably has over the years). Innocent bystander witnesses a crime, and despite threats and violence, not to say anything, comes forward and does the right thing. Great 50's cars, and if memory serves, a lot of the music was done by Duane Eddy and the Rebels.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.