skip navigation
Jesus Christ Superstar

Jesus Christ Superstar(1973)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Jesus Christ Superstar Rock singers reenact the... MORE > $8.55 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • That Moment When...

    • Barb
    • 7/27/16

    It was that moment when Jesus and Judas clasped hands during the song 'Everything's Alright', where you find out that Jesus knows Judas will betray him and Judas knows that Jesus knows. Wowza--just some solid acting there between Mr. Neeley and Mr. Anderson, all delivered in the their expressions. My favorite moment among many. Just an awesome film, movingly (and deftly) given to the audience.

  • Jesus Christ Superstar

    • Joseph hickman
    • 7/1/16

    Jesus Christ Superstar is an amazing theatrical and musical movie about the Adult life of Jesus. It is done totally to music no other speaking. The performanances especially by Ted Neeley and Carl Anderson are breath taking! The music is just incredible and all vocals are spot on! This movie is done with Musicians more then actors and it is done very well! The songs stick in your head! Its a timeless classic that seems to get better with age! Its a must see for all music lovers! Andrew Lloyd Webbers music is unmatched! A must see!!

  • Great

    • Karen
    • 7/1/16

    Thank you for sharing this moment really means a lot will always still watch this

  • The Best!!

    • Susannah snyder
    • 7/1/16

    This movie is fantastic......I first saw it as a young teen in the 70's and I was mesmerized. To this day I can sing right along with ALL of the songs. The movie and the album were played over and over again as I grew up......!!

  • My Inspiration

    • Patricia Abrames
    • 6/30/16

    I saw Jesus Christ Superstar for the first time when I was 11 years old. I remember going to the movie theater with my family. It was a new theater and JCS was as far as I know was playing in RI for the very first time Spring of 1974. When the music first started It startled me and I jumped in my seat but I was spellbound from the first frame of the movie to the very last, I could not take my eyes off the screen. I loved seeing the scenery, costumes props and of course the actors. By the time I was 16 I wanted to go into musical theater and it was Jesus Christ Superstar that inspired me. It became my dream to be in a production of the show and play Mary Magdelene. I have never gotten to play that role but I did get to be a member of the ensemble in a local theater productio so I fulfilled part of my dream. I have seen Ted in the live show 4 times and got to meet him offstage 2 of those times. He is a wonderful man. The cast did a fantastic job on the show and The original movie to this day is my favorite production of the show. I did find the bus as well as the army tank and jet that appeared in the film during Judas song and the costumes out of place because those things didn't exist in Jesus time but I was so enamored of the cast and the music that the things that didn't fit didn't matter. Loved everything about the show and still do.

  • A Timeless, Groundbreaking, Classic!

    • Terri Togonon
    • 6/30/16

    "Jesus Christ Superstar" is a timeless classic. A "rock opera" in every sense of the word; the amazing music, the phenomenal performances by Ted Neeley, the late Carl Anderson, and Yvonne Ellman, along with the rest of the cast, combine to create a true experience for the viewer. This is truly a "must see" for any fan of musicals, or movies that inspire and create a legacy of song and emotion. A fan then, a fan now, a fan forever.

  • Ted Neely Super Slur

    • Hauntess A. Clichae
    • 6/30/16

    When Christ cast out the money changers & merchandisers from His house of prayer & confronted the hypocritical Jewish Pharisees, 'somehow' this movie slipped through cracks & dominates the world with that same serpentine mentality as evidenced by those viewers who worship Ted Neely & company. The mass mind could not get any more bent. (Or could it, Neely?)

  • Jesus Christ Superstar

    • Kimberley
    • 6/30/16

    A rich portrayal combining the story of Jesus with the sign of the times musicality, the. 70's. TED'S vocals are haunting dialogue, pitch perfect as if he pulls from his toes and glides his tone all the way upward. Yvonne's melodic vocal gift is just one of an ensemble of singers, dances and actors that make JCS an experience. ....The film did the best with what was available for projection, scenery and effects in the 70's. Watch for, what it is, not for what it could be if made today. After all, that's too much work. So sit back and be entertained allowing either your faith in Jesus Christ or your appreciation for consummate professional musicians (or both), to present themselves. You will never forget Ted's tenor pitch, ever.

  • The Best musical in the world

    • Jenny Birgersson
    • 6/30/16

    I recommend everyone who hasn't seen it to see it.The first time I saw it it made me decide to start singing and playing the guitarr. The casting is the best and the music is beautiful and moving.

  • THE movie about Jesus!

    • Stella C.
    • 6/29/16

    So many of us grew up watching this movie and singing these songs and fell in love with it, watching faithfully each and every year, or playing the record, CD or DVD over and over. I'm sure if you're reading this, like me, you probably know every lyric and every melody. But what drew us into this amazing experience more even than the timeless and brilliant music, the stunning locations and cinematography, and the exhilarating performances by the amazing cast was one man - Ted Neeley Jesus! This beautiful man so perfectly embodies this role in his passion and in his power, and in every perfect subtle nuance of his performance, that he is deeply loved by millions around the world. Watch social media for news of Ted Neeley, because meeting him in person, will only strengthen your love for him and for this incredible movie.

  • JCS ROCKS!!!

    • Jess Ulmer
    • 6/29/16

    Both literally and figuratively !! Been watching this movie since before I was born and it means just as much (if not more ) to me today as it did the first time I saw it!! I'm super excited about being able to partake in the live stream chat with Mr. Neeley on TCM tonight!!!!

  • Jesus Christ Superstar

    • Donalyn Gross
    • 6/29/16

    This is the best movie about Jesus ever made. The music, the cast- just incredible. Ted Neeley is amazing. He's made a believer out of me! Hosanna Superstar!

  • Still going strong

    • Glen
    • 6/28/16

    I have loved this movie ever since I first saw it in 1976. The visuals, the music and the singing. Simply a perfect combination. I watch it at least twice a year. Two years ago I had the incredible experience of meeting Ted Neeley and Barry Dennen and watching the movie while sitting next to Ted. Then the very next day I watched it again sitting next to Caiaphas himself Bob Bingham and it was the first time he had seen the movie in over 30 years. They were all the nicest, most gracious and personable people you could ever hope to meet. Great story...the night of the screening while we are in the theater before the public was let in and we are talking with Ted, a worker in the back of the theater sneezed and Ted stopped and said "Bless You". One of the guys in the group yells back to the worker "Dude, you are so lucky! You just got blessed by Jesus Christ"

  • For Forty Years....

    • Allyson
    • 6/28/16

    For Forty years this movie, Jesus Christ Superstar, has stood the test of time......Seeing it today brings up the same emotions as seeing it when it premiered....This is due mostly to the man portraying Jesus: Ted Neeley. Who by the way is still performing this role and getting standing ovations In THE MIDDLE of the song Gethsemane. I have seen this movie countless times.I have seen the theater production countless times and have even played in the orchestra for two runs of this show.... There is nothing like seeing Ted Neeley perform live....We are so lucky to have this movie that captures that incredible performance of an amazing artist. And we are lucky to have the performances of Carl Anderson, Yvonne Elliman, Barry Dennen, Robert Bingham, Kurt Yaghjian, Larry Marshall, Leeyan Granger and the entire cast performing in the desert of Israel....If you have not seen this movie, tune in on Thursday....You will be glad you did....Peace, love and light to Ted and all who gave us this wonderful movie. Love, Allyson

  • Great Movie!

    • Roy
    • 6/28/16

    This is a great movie! I watch it every time it is on tv. I also own the video and audio CD.

  • Still one of the most memorable films of all time

    • Sherrie Davis
    • 6/28/16

    I remember watching Jesus Christ Superstar when it first came out and the impact it had on me at that time. To this day the film still has that impact and I have now shared it with my children and grandchildren so they too can experience this wonderful film. The acting in it is incredible especially Ted Neeley who portrayed Jesus. His powerful voice combined with his gentle ways throughout the film touch your soul. Carl Anderson and the other actors also provided such powerful characters and incredible music that sweeps you away during the movie into their characters. I have seen the movie so many times that I have lost count. I have also been lucky enough to see the live show with Ted Neeley in it throughout all the tours that they have done in the United States. To this day he still has that incredible powerful voice and wonderful personality that touches everyone who sees him perform and has the chance to meet him. I have also had the chance to get to know some of the other actors in the film and they all are so incredibly talented too and such wonderful people. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this film to everyone. It is a film that everyone should have an opportunity to experience and then experience it again and again over the years. You will truly be touched by this wonderful film.

  • From Ted Neeley...

    • Ted Neeley
    • 6/28/16

    Israel 1972. As an actor working on my first motion picture under the guidance of Mr. Norman Jewison, I could not have imagined that this project would have endured in the hearts, voices and words of so many!! With the help of networks like Turner Classic Movies, this film as well as others will live on for future generations of music and movie lovers to enjoy. I have no plans to stop performing the stage production of Jesus Christ Superstar around the world and will be coming to YOUR TOWN to project this wonderful film onto your local theater's BIG SCREEN!! I am active on Social Media and everyone can find me on my website at tedneeley.com. Hope to see you on the road very soon... Once again, a BIG Thank You to TCM and I wish YOU Peace, Love and Light... Ted.

  • There is NO other...

    • Cathy Barlow
    • 6/27/16

    There have been quite a few actors both in theater and film portraying Jesus in "Jesus Christ Superstar," however no one embodies and personifies this role more to me and countless thousands of others, as Ted Neeley. I believe Ted Neeley is the man that Christ himself, in some magical, mystical way, has chosen to portray him. No other film can touch the gentleness, vulnerability, tenderness, kindness and love that Norman Jewison's 1973 "Jesus Christ Superstar" posesses, especially with Ted in the lead role. I remember this film as a teenager, but don't remember watching it in its entirety until many, many years later when it was around Christmas and it was on television and I knew I had to watch it. I was so moved by this film that I would watch it over and over on weekends, and would even playthe Gethsemane scene before going to work in the morning. It made me feel so good, so in touch with my faith, like nothing else could. And there is no actor, anywhere, that can move so many people to tears and touch so many hearts with "Gethsemane" as Ted Neeley. Thank you, TCM, for presenting this beautiful film on June 30, 2016, and I hope you continue to schedule it many times throughout the year.

  • MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME!

    • Nancy Cole
    • 6/27/16

    This movie has touched me in so many ways and I attribute it to being instrumental in growing my faith! I have seen this movie literally hundreds of times and since I was a child, I have known the lyrics by heart. I have also seen the play twice, once with Ted Neeley!But the experience that I will cherish forever is when I was able to meet the cast and see firsthand how genuine all of them are! Ted Neeley is the most kind and loving person I have ever met! He shows such appreciation to all of his fans and takes time to actually talk with each and every one when given the chance.This movie changed my life and it will always be my favorite!

  • One Of My All-Time Favorites!

    • Raechel
    • 6/27/16

    I have been watching Jesus Christ Superstar, and listening to the soundtrack, since I was 5 or 6 years old. I had two older sisters that were huge fans and passed that down to me. I watch the movie every time it is aired and sing along with every song (badly, I'm tone deaf, lol). Even after all the viewings, I am still moved every time I watch. I am proud to say that I have passed down my passion for this movie to my daughter. She has accompanied me to the anniversary screenings where we met members of the cast. This movie will live on and on, it is just that good!

  • The Best Musical of all times

    • Jenny Birgersson
    • 6/26/16

    Everytime I see Jesus Christ Superstar I get touched by the sincerity of all the actors.The music is very moving soit makes me start singing with everyone.I have recommendet it to all my friends and family to watch.I can see it so many times and discover new things that happens.The music is well written so is the script and all the actors are well placed in their characters so it makes it real.I just love it.

  • Jesus Christ Superstar

    • Teresa
    • 6/26/16

    This movie has been watched by my family for 3 generations. The movie soundtrack is played everyday in our homes. Thank you for playing the film. This film should touch as many families as possible.

  • LOVE JCS!! Big Fan !!!

    • Jess
    • 6/25/16

    Huge fan of JCS since before I can remember and meeting Ted Neeley and Kurt Yaghjian while they were touring the states with the movie just enhanced my inner fan/ geek !! Such sweethearts...!!! Mr. Neeley your talent has been both awe inspiring and moving to me and my fam over the years and your kindness, patients, understanding.... Warms my heart!! Thank you for being you...!!! You have a big heart and amazing talent!! Greatly looking forward to the live chat Thurs/Fri!!! Talk to you soon!! -JessP.S. The movie ROCKS!! Whole cast.... AMAZING!! I miss Carl!! Such a talent.... Never to be forgotten !!!

  • Hosanna

    • Christine
    • 6/25/16

    My favorite movie! Brilliant! Ted Neeley and Carl Anderson had voices like no other.

  • A Game Changer

    • Jeanne
    • 6/25/16

    Jesus Christ Super Star brought rock opera into musical theater, changing the genre forever. It opened doors and paved the way for modern writers of musicals such as Hamilton to bravely step out of the box with other genres such as rap.

  • Amazing Performances from Amazing People

    • Carol
    • 6/25/16

    JCS is one of my top favorite films of all time. This is one I can see over and over and never get tired of it. The summer of '72 I was 11 and fell in love with music. By the time the film came out I was 13 and so excited to see it, never having seen a perfomance. I was amazed by the cast and their talents, the Zealots dance scene, the extraordinary scenery, using a freeze frame in Hosanna and mixing modern equipment into Biblical settings. I also developed a huge crush on Ted!I will always treasure this film and the people who made it. It was very important to me during my teenage years and cannot express enough how much it meant to me. I am SO happy to see I wasn't the only one! Love to you all!

  • An All-Time Favourite

    • Chelsea
    • 6/25/16

    The first time I saw Jesus Christ Superstar, I was a young kid who adored musicals both on stage and on screen. JCS has remained one of my absolute favourites, and is a film I could watch a thousand times and never become bored with it. The talent is absolutely phenomenal. Ted, Yvonne and Carl are exceptional in their chemistry and I couldn't imagine a different cast. This film nurtured a love of music in me that would never have existed without it, and helped me to connect with spirituality in a way that is authentic to me. Jesus Christ Superstar will forever be one of my favourite movies.

  • more than a movie

    • Linda
    • 6/25/16

    The first time I saw this movie I was 13 years old . Through modern terminology the story of Jesus helped young people to understand and to relate to Him as a man. Ted Neeley and Carl Anderson were born to play these roles. No one can come close to the passion they bring to the screen.

  • One of the BEST movies ever made!

    • Lisa
    • 6/25/16

    This movie and I go WAY back. I saw it for the first time when I was only 7 years old. It became an Easter tradition. Even at the young age, I was SO touched by the acting, and incredible scenery of where it was filmed. I had an older sister, and as it often happens with siblings, we had NOTHING in common. But every Easter, we would forget our stupid sibling issues and watch JCS together and sing all the songs together. Also, even at the young age, I fell madly in love with Ted Neeley. :-) Here we are more years later than I care to admit, and I have seen the film at least 100 times or more. I have been lucky enough to see the stage production with Mr. Neeley and Mr. Anderson, and meet them in person. I only met Mr. Anderson briefly, but I have had the ultimate pleasure of spending time talking to Mr. Neeley, and he is truly on of the kindest, most generous people I have ever met. When he is talking to you, he makes you feel like you are the only person in the world. Both the film and the stage production, are truly journeys that you never get tired of taking! Every time I see it, it's like I'm seeing it for the first time. Yet I know all the songs by heart, and can't help but sing along. It's also very spiritual. You don't have to be a religious person per se, to enjoy this film. But it certainly will strenghten your faith. At least it has for me. I can't say enough good things about the performances, music, scenery, message and direction of this film. It's a definite MUST see....a true cinema treasure!

  • Dreams Can Come True

    • TATIANA
    • 6/25/16

    I was a shy and lonely 16th . Few friends and many secret dreams. I studied languages at the High School because I liked to know foreign countries and cultures. One day a strange and different movie came out. I didn't even know what a musical or a rock-opera was. Jesus Christ Superstar opened an unknown world to me. The impact was huge. I didn't know who this man was. His face was so impressive, starting from the Overture: blonde hair , blue-eyes, and then such a wonderful thrilling voice! I was literally blown away. Then I went again to the cinemas at least 20 times. A birthday present from my parents was the soudtrack album , so that I could learn by heart all the songs easily, thanks to my ear for the music too. I had only the tape at first and made the rewind. Music saved me from loneliness and this music in particular. I took it with me even on my Summer holidays at the seaside, in fact the grooves are almost erased!! The songs helped me with my English homework. I embroidered flowers and stars and hearts on my jeans and "Jesus Christ Superstar" andhad a white long sleeve tee-shirt with fringes. I used to go to the cinema with a friend of mine with whom I shared this passion. A movie poster each gifted by a movie operator . How lucky we were! Moreover, Mary Magdalene gave me a different approach to the spirituality and Judas made me think about friendship and commitment. I had two big posters on the wall of my small room featuring Ted- Jesus with the crown of thorns and carriyng the Cross. and another smaller .All the characters of this Rock Opera are so challenging and touching, but all are Judas point of view. My 9 years younger sister got involved too, at this time she couldn' t understand well but followed me as she could. Now she became a fan too!I met Carl in 1999 2000 and then after 40 years Ted himself . so the dreams can come true, and more to come....JCS forever

  • The Best

    • Lynne
    • 6/25/16

    Since I was a little girl I grew up watching and listening to this wonderful movie. All of the cast is outstanding and the music is beyond fantastic. A must see any time it's on.

  • Fan from the age of 10

    • Jimmy B
    • 6/24/16

    Explaining the impact of Jesus Christ Superstar on my life, in this space, well... there just isn't enough room. It is a holiday staple in my home and more than holidays for myself! I have so many events throughout my life where Superstar has been at the forefront of! Thanks to Mr. Jewison for having the vision to bring this phenomenal music to life on the big screen! Thank you to all the fantastic actors and actress' for their SUPERB vocal and cinematic performances! These roles were tailor made for each of you! Your performances cannot be matched! Lastly, Thanks to all the UNBELIEVABLE studio musicians who played on this recording!! Everyone involved in the production of this EPIC film changed a 10 year old's life!! WAY TO GO TCM!! Keep this one as part of your year round rotation!!

    • Annelien Scheepers
    • 6/24/16

    JCS the movie is one of my all time favourites and Ted Neeley was my high school crush!! Have seen it many many times, today love it even more than when I saw it for the first time. Last December JCS the musical came to the Netherlands. Saw my hero live for the first time. Loved the entire show and especially Teds performance: still going strong, even decades later. In awe!!!

  • Overwhelmingly powerful

    • Valeria
    • 6/24/16

    Norman Jewison succeeded in transforming a great theatrical succes into LEGEND. The music, of course, is wonderful, the cast is "superstar", Ted Neeley is a living myth.The movie changed my way of approaching to musicals and will live forever in my soul

  • This movie changed my life

    • Amanda Ritchey
    • 6/24/16

    I first saw JCS the movie in preparation to seeing it live on Broadway. I was enthralled. The music, the singing, the story, the acting- all of it. I went on to see the stage production 9 times, wear through 2 copies of the soundtrack and own at least 2 DVDs of the movie.The thing is, I'm not even an overly religious person. To me, it transcends that. I consider myself lucky to have met its star, Ted Neeley multiple times as he truly is a treasure. Its other star, Carl Anderson, is a talent that left us too soon. I hope a new generation can enjoy this masterpiece.

  • ... a part of my life.

    • Geert Jan Wagemans
    • 6/24/16

    I was 11 when the movie was released. But..., the Dutch 'viewer guide' classification system had decided the minimum age for this movie to be 12. I couldn't have been more frustrated. I already knew the music and lyrics from a to z and back from z to a, since my elder sister had bought the original JCS album with Ian Gillan, Murray Head and Yvonne Elliman, long before the movie was released. And now a bunch of fools had decided I couldn't see the movie.... Pfffff...But I grew older and saw the movie dozens of times in the cinema. I really have no idea how often, but believe me, it has been very often. I am 53 now and I consider JCS being an essential "part of my life". It's a feeling that I can't describe, but I can't imagine my life how it would have been without the music, without the words, without Ted Neeley, without Carl Anderson and ALL the others that created and were part of Jesus Christ Superstar. And to ALL of you, I want to say (very loud), from the bottom of my heart: THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!!!And Ted, see you again in January :-).

  • Life changing!

    • Cynthia laChapelle
    • 6/24/16

    This movie was so compelling! I can't say enough about the performances of the cast and crew! It had a tremendous effect on me,still does to this day!from the acting to the set decorations and of course the phenomenal soundtrack there had been no film about Jesus that really portrayed him as a contemporary, up till then all biblical movies were so reverent and unrelatable. This film had captured what it was like to have known Jesus as a friend and as a savior, it stirred my heart. Some years back I had the great pleasure of seeing the live version of the play at my local theatre The Strand in Sheveport,Louisina,it was amazing!!! Ted Neeley was the embodiment of CHrist that night! The play was so intense that I cried! After the show Ted was so nice to greet his fans backstage. I told him that I had never felt the spirit of God in any church I had ever been in, but that night in that theatre I felt His presence like never before! I had tears running down my face and Ted reached up ,held my face in his hands and wiped away my tears! I will never forget the hug and the prayer we shared that night,it was amazing! What a wonderful film and Ted Neeley is a truly generous,beautiful man...

  • The Movie of My High School Years

    • Su Bianco
    • 6/23/16

    When I was in High School, Grade 11/12 - ish..... JCS was a staple at our local drive-in. My friends and I went every Friday night. For 13 weeks, at least. We learned all of the lyrics....we danced with Simon Zealotas...we imitated Bob Bingham's deep voice...we shrieked with Barry Dennen....and we loved Ted Neeley and Carl Anderson's amazing performances as JC and Judas.It has been over 40 years, and I still know all the words. I have a copy of the movie, which I have watched over and over. I played it for my grand daughter, because I knew she would love the music. I also saw Ted play JCS at the O'Keefe Centre in Toronto...I saw the revival in Stratford Ontario 3 years ago. And my daughter took me to a local theatre in Toronto to see it one more time.It is timeless. My best friend from high school dared me on Facebook to send her a note with the first line from the movie. It took me 30 seconds. It's a sing-a-long...it's great performances - it's amazing music...it's a movie that will always be relevant.

  • Family tradition

    • Lynntrudeau
    • 6/23/16

    This movie has been a tradition in my home since I was six years old my sister and I would wait for it to come on New Year's Eve we would be allowed to stay up late to watch it while we took the Christmas tree down . My mother was a single mom of six children and eventually got married again but we all had this movie in our hearts and watched it every single time we could . One of my most favorite memories was all six of us some in-laws and my mother went to see the performance at the Providence performing arts Center at Christmas time we actually almost got kicked out of the theater because we are all singing to every single word of the songs and waited so patiently for Ted Neeley to hit those notes it was one of the greatest nights.In addition this movie taught us a lot about ourselves about the life of Christ about forgiveness and about all of the walks the Jesus took so that we may join him in heaven someday.

  • The Years Melt Away

    • LWest
    • 6/23/16

    Early in the '70s I got to dance and sing to the soundtrack in my best friend's living room. She had seen the movie but my parents wouldn't take me. I learned the words to every song thanks to my BFF. Years slid forward, 40 so years. It was Christmas and I had watched a history of Early Christianity on PBS/Frontline. It made me think about 2,000 years and how time was vast. Shortly after I watched Jesus Christ Superstar for the first time and it made me feel like 2,000 years had suddenly slipped away. Nothing had ever made me feel like I could just reach out through time and feel integral to Jesus' story. Well I watched it again and it became a favorite of my family's. I was lucky enough to meet and talk to Ted Neeley who played Jesus, and we discussed this time slide, and he credited Norman Jewison for this phenomenon. Something in how the film was shot made it so real. I saw a great documentary recently that has Norman explaining how he achieved this. I'll be watching TCM when they play JCS. I'll melt back 40 years to my childhood and my friend's living room, and then 2,000 more years, and I'll be there.

  • Stands the test of time

    • Diane Birdwell
    • 6/23/16

    I saw this movie as part of a school field trip when I was a teen in 1973. I now show parts of it in my World History classes. The movie tells a well-known story, but treats it as if it was new. The lyrics show the tension between the Jews and the Romans, the Jews and the Apostles and within the group itself. Using a diverse cast, Norman Jewison was way ahead of movie-making, because the casting was based on talent, but the lesson of racial diversity was not lost on a young generation of viewers. (Today, my students have a hard time believing this was a topic of conversation once!) "Hamilton" on Broadway may get attention for it now, but JCS broke the barrier on race-blind casting. The setting, using minimal modern features in combination with actual Roman sites in Israel is more powerful than it first appears. The movie-goer will initially notice the modern (at the time) clothes, objects and references, but after a while, it all blends with the story so well, it does not seem odd at all to have Jesus escorted by soldiers with ROTC helmets and carrying automatic weapons. The acting is wonderful all the way through the cast. No matter how much screen time any of the actors get, they make an impact. The movie helped to introduce the genre of opera to teens who had no desire to follow older art forms in the 1970s. This movie is timeless. A great way to inspire conversations about the story of Jesus without "preaching" the story.

  • Thank you

    • Natalie Farst
    • 6/23/16

    Just wanted to say thank all of those individuals who had a hand in the making of this movie. Jesus Christ Superstar was the 1st movie that I became enamored with as a child. And to this day it remains my favorite movie. In my opinion it is the most creative, dedicated version of the last days of Christ. I have now shared it with my son and am happy that we can share this special movie together. In my eyes no other adaptation has come close to the feelings that were being felt during that time by all those involved. Just an amazing, moving film. Thank you for bringing it to the film screen

  • Jesus Christ Superstar

    • Michael Whitty
    • 6/17/16

    The last week of Jesus told with songs was a smashing success on stage and on film. Director Norman Jewison came to this musical after doing "Fiddler on the Roof' and the outdoor look of "Jesus Christ Superstar" helped substantially with the song effects telling this religious story to a nice effect. The modern and the ancient effects combine nicely here for more meaning to this "passion" musical. Ted Neeley, who played Jesus on stage in this, gives a heartfelt performance leading through the songs and characters and ultimately to the sight of Golgotha. We begin by seeing a bus of actors and others come to this desert area and set up their sets to play out all this. We end by observing Jesus on the cross and the meaning and mystery of the crucifixion and redemption. But the songs were what made a hit out of this as they tie the ancient and the modern together.

  • moving!

    • elizabeth
    • 3/28/13

    i really don't like rock music but this is an exception to the rule. congratulations to everyone involved in this movie. you are all so blessed to have the talent to make this movie. the message of God's great love is sent thru this movie in a modern way. hope more of this kind of movie will be made. thanks!

  • moving!

    • elizabeth
    • 3/28/13

    i don't really like rock music but this one is an exception to the rule. this movie is moving and you will really feel the message of the songs, and feel God's love in a modern way.congratulations to all involved in this movie. you are all blessed to have the talent to make this movie and send the message.

  • J C SUPERSTAR

    • MANTEQUILLA
    • 4/24/11

    GREAT MOVIE! AWESOME SONGS! FANTASTIC CAST! BUT BEFORE THE MOVIE MY FRIENDS AND I WERE IN 8TH GRADE AND WE WORE OUT THE ALBUM ON VINYL! NO B.S. I HAD TO BUY THE ALBUM TWICE. THEN WE ALL WENT TO THE SHOW TO SEE THE MOVIE AND SANG ALONG THRU THE WHOLE MOVIE. HAD EVERYBODY IN THE SHOW BESIDES US SINGING N CLAPPING TILL THE MOVIE ENDED!!!!!

  • Jesus Christ, Superstar

    • Kathie
    • 4/19/11

    This is an excellent movie and I am glad TCM has included it in their library. It is more than a movie really; it is more like a real life depiction of Christ's life, making Him more real. for example the scene in Gethsemane when Jesus is expressing His doubts to God. I like that the songs follow the scriptures they were based on. Ted Neeley is the quintessential Christ. He is what I image Christ would look like. I saw this movie when it first came out in 1973. It was so phenomenal and powerful that I saw it several times and cried each just about every time I saw it. I had the soundtrack and listened to it frequently. I could picture each scene from the movie as I listened to the songs. My favorite song from the soundtrack by far is "Could We Start Again, Please." It was such an earnest plea to change the path they were on. The movie was very touching and heart wrenching from the opening scene to the roll of the final credits.

  • LOVED IT THEN, LOVE IT NOW

    • Lou Ann
    • 4/1/11

    I remember seeing this movie when it came out in 1973 and sitting through it two times. I got the soundtrack album as soon as I could. I can still remember almost every word of every song to this day. Ted Neeley is just wonderful as is Carl Anderson. Of course it is a little dated now but the performances are timeless. Don't miss any chance to see this. Ted Neeley is so great in the Gethsemane scene - what a voice.

  • JESUS CHRIST SUPESTAR

    • JOCE
    • 2/27/11

    THIS MOVIE WAS EXELLENT THEN AND IS STILL TO THIS DAY AN EXELLENT WELL DIRECTED CLASSIC CHRISTIAN ROCK OPERA VERSION OF JESUS CHRIST'S CRUCIFIXTION. IT IS A MOVIE FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY,AND TO THE POINT AND WITH THE BIBLE.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.