skip navigation
Poor Little Rich Girl

Poor Little Rich Girl(1936)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Must!!!

    • Sarah Peer
    • 7/11/15

    I grew up watching this movie, and sadly my vhs died out long ago. Would LOVE to see this on dvd!

  • Please Reschedule

    • dressscholar
    • 7/7/15

    I just realize that my alarm did not go off at 2:00am for Poor Little Rich Girl. I wanted to dvr it for my six year-old daughter and it doesn't seem that you may ever play it again in the near future. I know that it hasn't been played for at least 3 1/2 y years. If you could find it in your hearts to add it back into your schedule, this mom would be so appreciative. I want her to be able to see this movie! Thank you.

  • Poor Little Rich Girl

    • N. Spivey
    • 10/29/13

    This Shirley Temple movie is absolutely one of her best films, and I don't understand why it has not been released to DVD! The scenes between Shirley and "puddinhead' Jack Haley are so funny, and the scenes with Claude Gillingwater are precious. With a cast that includes Alice Faye and Gloria Stuart, this is a classic, and it should be released to DVD! I wish someone could provide an explanation as to why most, if not all of her movies have been released to DVD, but this movie has not. I have almost all of her movies on DVD, and I watch them frequently.Someone has posted it on Youtube in a series of videos, and I watch it there when I want to watch this movie. I wonder, who is the "puddinhead" preventing this movie from being released to DVD?

  • The Fabulous "Poor Little Rich Girl"

    • bopcity
    • 9/30/12

    A "must put on dvd", c'mon guys...you'll sell millions. People love this movie!

  • Poor little rich girl /Shirley Temle

    • Lucia Unpingco
    • 1/12/12

    I have been searching. High and low for this movie. I wish you would put it on DVD soon. I grew up with this movie back in the late 60's and want to share it with my two daughters and future grandchildren. PLEASE!

  • my favorite movie

    • victoria
    • 12/1/11

    i was born in the early 80's and remember watching this movie with my mom and grandmother. i know every word of every song! i hope this is released on DVD soon!!

  • Poor Little Rich Girl

    • Sir Luke
    • 4/13/11

    I have fond memories of my little girl and some unwanted pain with that, but this little princess touches my heart like no one can... I wish she was my little girl! (sigh...)

  • Shirley's Best Picture

    • Jo
    • 7/1/10

    This is not only Shirley Temple's best picture, this is one of the best musicals of the 1930s. Shirley's finale tap dance with lovely Alice Faye and wonderful Jack Haley, Sr. is simply great. The songs are memorable and fun. Shirley's fashions are adorable. It is unbelievable that this gem is not on home video.

  • Poor Little Rich Girl

    • Winnie Wilson
    • 4/9/10

    I love all of Shirley Temple's movies. I have all but two of her movies. This one and Our Little Girl. Hopefully both will come out on DVD real soon. If you like her movies as much as I do please vote so they will print them. Thanks alot Winnie

  • Poor Little Rich Girl (1936)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/27/10

    Shirley Temple is at her best, some good musical numbers and the wonderful Alice Faye. Very cute and heartwarming. Grand entertainment 1930's style.

  • Colorized version of Poor Little Rich Girl

    • Cindy
    • 11/6/09

    I see the running time on this movie has 3 different times. I just saw the colorized version on another network, AMC, and was sorely disappointed when they cut out the fabulous number of Shirley singing "Oh My Goodness" to her dolls and they come alive and she sings in different accents. Don't know if it's the colorized version or a matter of squeeezing in the commercials. Buyer beware!It makes me wonder what else got cut. It's amazing how much of the lyrics I remember from watching these movies almost 50 yrs ago as a young girl. One of Shirley's best movies with great cast, melodic songs and great dancing.

  • Shirley Temple's Best Film

    • Pam
    • 2/24/07

    Shirley's singing, dancing, and acting talents shine throughout this film. She sings "Oh My Goodness" in various dialects that may not be PC in today's world, but are remarkably done for a child her age and bound to get a laugh. She also tugs at the heartstrings and brings a smile when she sings "When I'm With You" to her father, asking him to marry her and let her be his wife--again raising some non-PC eyebrows.With the top-notch talents of co-stars Alice Faye, who sings like an angel; Jack Haley, who exhibits the same humor we loved him for in "The Wizard of Oz;" Gloria Stuart, who we know from "Titanic;" and Claude Gillingwater, who plays better than anyone the grouch with a soft spot; this is easily the best movie that Shirley Temple made.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.