skip navigation
The Quiet American

The Quiet American(1958)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Question for Kevin

    • Anthony
    • 3/28/19

    Kevin -- are you saying the Vietnam war was the stupidest, costliest war in US history except for WW2, the Civil War and the American Revolution. That's what your text says but the idea is so profoundly contrarian I just wanted to be sure I read it right. Anthony

  • response to previous review

    • kevin sellers
    • 3/27/19

    Jeff is more than usually barmy here. He writes that I "confuse" Mankewicz's film with the novel upon which it is clearly based! (It says so in the credits and even has the same character names and traits as the novel. Did he even read Graham Greene's book? Sure doesn't sound like it.) Is Jeff actually saying that this film is NOT based on Graham Greene's novel? Believe it or not, I respect the fellow too much to make that assumption, for that would make him a blithering idiot and, as many of his previous intelligent and sometimes perceptive reviews on this site have shown, he is not that, but simply a misguided nationalist, as we all are at times. As far as his charge that I was being "snide" to previous reviewer Alice I plead guilty. I confess to a visceral aversion to TCM humorless bluestockings (two traits that Jeff does not have,by the way) like her and whenever I encounter it I get my dander up. Finally, at no point in my review did I take the position that the Domino Theory was incorrect. Perfectly sound theory. Which America used to get into the stupidest, costliest war in its history of stupid, costly wars (WW2, Civil and Am Rev excepted).

  • "Your truth is all so temporary"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 5/20/17

    I love the lines by Phuong's sister ("When an American is married he looks married") and Fowler's wife, her words in the letter narrated ("I don't believe in divorce. My religion forbids it. The answer is no."). Sellers is wrong again in yet another review, but this time not just with yet another narrow-minded, snide and snobbish assumption about what the reviewer (Alice) meant by her words, but this time he even clumsily confused the 1958 film with the earlier novel and the later, not nearly as good remake. History showed that the Domino Theory beat out The Quiet American's Third Force.

  • A Retort about Novel versus Movie

    • lcs
    • 5/20/17

    I wouldn't say that Mankiewicz was making an anti-American movie, although Redgrave's character was true to the tone of Green's novel. In the end, Mankiewicz wanted to emphasize, in his own words, that "emotions can very often dictate political beliefs." That is a much more subtle point than Green's blatant pro-Communist slant, and it made a for a better movie than a literal transcription of the novel would.

  • response to previous critic

    • kevin sellers
    • 5/29/16

    It sounds like Alice did not actually watch "Quiet American," but simply assumed that, because it starred Audie Murphy, it MUST be patriotic. If she had actually viewed this most cynical of anti war films, with writer/director Joseph Mankedwiecz in full blown anti American mode, she would not have made the egregious error of confusing it with, say, "The Green Berets," which is what her erroneously flag waving review suggests. But then again, this would not be the first time that patriotism has rendered the intellect flaccid.

  • Soft-spoken patriot

    • Alice
    • 3/13/16

    I love all of Audie Murphy's films. I watch them any time I see that they are on. It is so nice to see we had in him, an aura of quiet strength with enough courage and love of country and the freedom it represented, to actually fight for it when the situation called for it. War is never pretty. Where would our country be if no one had been willing to fight for it during the Revolutionary War? There would be no United States of America. May our Lord bless everyone who is willing to fight for the freedom our founding fathers fought so hard to get for us. The alternative to caring enough to fight is not a pretty one. Thank you TCM for continuing to show patriotic films and films with former patriots acting in them; especially those films that are historically based.

  • Influenced by...

    • Dam8batta
    • 2/7/16

    The Quiet American (1958) & The Comedians (1968) by Graham Greene, novelist & sometime film critic. Both have as protagonist a world weary cynic caught up in an impossible love, scoffing at an idealist ("I have no faith in faith") and in the end, making or failing to make a noble sacrifice. Hmmm. Sounds like Mr Greene admired Casablanca (1942). French police officer & confidant Claude Dauphin even reminds me of Claude Rains.

  • hero

    • tom
    • 1/29/16

    audie was not a quiet american in ww2 being most decorated and had a body count of 240 german

  • The quiet American

    • Michael Stephan
    • 12/7/15

    I not only think Audie did a great job in this movie but is a true American hero. My father met Audie during the filming of the movie it was the first time my father was in Vietnam he was a career soldier. About an hour into the movie there is a bar scene where my father has a cameo scene he is the one sitting at the bar reading the newspaper.

  • The Quiet American (1958)

    • George Elliott
    • 7/26/13

    My favorite Audie Murphy movie. Definitely one of the better directors he ever worked with. An interesting take on the two opposite characters in pre-1960's Vietnam. Wish he had made more like these. My only regret is that it was done in black and white.

  • The quiet American with Audie murphy

    • Dolores cocuzzo
    • 5/27/13

    I don't know why Audie was not given a better review for his performance. I am so sick of people saying he was wooden. I don't think Brad Pitt and/or Johnny Depp are any better in some of their roles. Furthermore Audie never went Hollywood. (God bless him for that.) He deserved to be in pictures from what he did as a child and in ww2 it gave him a living. He was humble and although the stars get all their glory and money he is well remembered at Arlington NationalCemetery for something that is far more important than movie reviews. He should have been given good directors like John Houston and better scripts. He was the best Billy the Kid - great in Bad Boy. Night Passage. No Name on the Bullett. Red Badge... etc.He was a good actor and a great American.Thank you

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.