skip navigation
The Slipper and the Rose

The Slipper and the Rose(1976)

Contribute

FOR The Slipper and the Rose (1976) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • from bad to worse.

    • a.morris
    • 5/15/18

    I thought the worst thing that happened to me on may 14 2018 was how I spelled abbott of abbott and Costello with one t. then I heard Richard chamberlain sing..

  • Thanks a lot for nothing

    • Saps48
    • 4/6/18

    This March 1976 release was another nail in the coffin of Radio City Music Hall as a movie and stage show venue. Thousands of empty seats at every show no doubt contributed to the Hall's demise.

  • Underrated Movie

    • Bigfoot
    • 6/8/17

    This Cinderella is much better than The Glass Slipper, the stupid Rogers and Hammerstein, and any of the Disney. Unfortunately The Slipper and the Rose is too often underrated just because it's different from any of the other versions. Also, some people who have criticized this film have gotten some of the details and information wrong. Maybe they're not used to British films from the 1970's. The Slipper and the Rose was beautifully done and deserves more respect and appreciation. Finally, is it possible for TCM to make the sheet music available for singers?

  • Best version of Cinderella

    • Jennifer
    • 6/3/17

    This is the best dramatic adaptation of Cinderella I have ever see, except for one more that I think was either in Russian or German.

  • Pleasing to the Eye

    • Maria Ramos
    • 11/16/16

    I just love Richard Chamberlain, ever since Dr. Kildare. He is so beautiful. And of course, I love the story of Cinderella. Wonderfully done. We all need fantasy in our lives, and this movie delivers.

  • NOW it's available on DVD--and on Blu-Ray!

    • Kirsten I.
    • 2/20/16

    I hope the authors of the other user reviews here have happily found THE SLIPPER AND THE ROSE in the format they desire. This version of the Cinderella story is probably the lengthiest I've seen on film, but the music score, the scenery, the sets, and the performances all make a spirited entertainment. The fairy godmother played by Annette Crosbie is delightfully amusing, the palace royalty are amusingly ridiculous (especially when singing "Protocoligorically Correct"), and Gemma Craven's Cinderella and Richard Chamberlain's Prince are gracefully romantic (especially when dancing to the dreamy waltz they separately sing later, "He/She Danced with Me"). Recommended to those who enjoy British comedy as well as sumptuously produced musical fairy tales.

  • Must We Wait?

    • JenniferYorgan
    • 8/17/09

    I fell in love with this musical as a child watching Disney Channel. In a lot of ways I like this musical better than Rogers & Hammersteins 'Cinderella'. It was more fun and lighthearted, the costumes were exceptional, and I love the songs. I would love to be able to purchase it and not have to wait for a movie channel to put it on their lineup. I actually like Richard Chamberlain better in this movie than 'Thorn Birds'. I might be alone in that particular statement.

  • A Feast For The Eyes

    • mark
    • 7/6/09

    Some of the greatest costumes, make-up & hair styling ever done on film. Would love to have a copy , 2nd only to 1938 "Marie Antoinette"

  • Wonderfully done!

    • Terry
    • 8/25/07

    Richard Chamberlan is great in this adaptaion. I saw it as a teenager and have been looking for it for years. The screen play was so well written. The characters were very real. My friends and I still talk about how many times we went to the theater to watch it!I am dissapointed it is not available to buy.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.