skip navigation
Smoky

Smoky(1946)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Smoky

    • glenn faulk
    • 11/15/18

    One of the great short movies of the baby boomer era about a cowboy and his horse and their devotion to one another.I give it a four out of five tears,good entertainment. Belongs right up there with Bambi, and Old Yeller...Great Cast..Please make it available.

  • Smokey the cow horse

    • Christina Smith
    • 5/4/15

    Smokey the cow horse, is a great movie saw it when I was a little girl.This movie is another one of my favorite horse movies.Tcm release this movie.

  • Tops

    • L.A. Combs
    • 2/2/13

    A fine film for all ages. The new 'Budweiser' commercial that will release for Super Bowl 2013 made me think hard about the theme. Where have I seen this 'theme' before? Reminded me of Smokey the movie.Had a wonderful opportunity to recommend the book by Will James to a young girl who was visiting the library the other day. As appauling as it sounded at the time, the little girl asked the librarian, not the reference librarian, to help her find a good book on horses. The librarian told the little girl, "I can't think of any. Sorry." The little girl's face had disappointment written all over it. I stepped up, and said, "Look for Smokey. I'm sure they have a copy in our library. It's a wonderful read, and I think you would enjoy it very much. "Smokey" was the very first book I ever read by yourself.Some stories & films are timeless. This movie is one of my all time favorites. Why anyone would not rate this a deserving five star movie I will never be able to understand. I'd rate it 10 stars if I could!Highly recommend the film to anyone. A classic.L.A. CombsLiving in the South

  • smoky your the best

    • sandra w.
    • 8/11/12

    O' my GOD...why wouldn't they release it on dvd? IT was one of the BEST horse movies EVER , I was also a little girl when I first saw it , my mom and dad knew I was horse crazy at age 1, and every time a horse movie came on they would always let me stay up late to watch for years and years. Smoky was so good it made you feel like what a horse's life was from start to end , at least how I thought is was back when i was a kid. I have had 2 of my own horses as I grew up and kept both until they past , now I'm to old to have horses , but I do still enjoy watching horse movies , and I am always looking for them, I have been looking for years for this movie ,.........WHY WOULD ANYBODY WANT THIS GREAT HORSE MOVE TO BE LOST IN THE PAST ! thats whats going to happen if they don't release it. there will always be people out there who love horses and this movie is a keeper.

  • Smokey (1946) one of the best horse movies ever!

    • EC
    • 5/27/12

    I have been searching for a copy of this film for decades. I remember watching Fred McMurray and Burl Ives in this classic Will James horse film when I was a little girl. It's a classic, beautiful, moving tale of one man and his special relationship with a horse. There are villains (corrupt, cruel brother, brutal owners) and of course love and redemption that chart the story of a wild colt that is captured, tamed, trained, and loved, lost, abused, used, damaged, and then finally, found and brought home. The musical numbers by a young Burl Ives also create movie history for its folksy, cowboy tunes. Come on TCM, bring "Smokey" back to the screen!

  • Grandaughter of the Bronch rider

    • Brenda Cram
    • 10/29/11

    I would really love for the studio to make this video available for sale, as my Grandfather Ormand Cram was the bronch rider in this movie.. My dad would love a copy and I would love to be able to show my children and my grandchildren this movie.. My Grandfather died when I was 6 years old and this would really be wonderful for me to own..

  • Best Horse movie EVER

    • George Harrington
    • 6/18/11

    Isaw this movie in 1946 , I was 8 yrs old at the time , and as horse's are my most loved animal , it was one I knew I would never forget , can't wait for it to come out on DVD

  • Smoky

    • Roy
    • 6/3/11

    This is a great movie, I work with horses and can relate to this show. I will be happy when it comes for sale on TCM so I can purchase a copy for my family to be able to watch.

  • Smoky

    • Cynthia
    • 6/3/11

    This is a great movie, highly recommend it and look forward to it being available for purchase on DVD soon!

  • Smoky

    • Pauline
    • 5/1/11

    I have been hoping this movie would appear on TCM. I can only hope it will be available for purchase. I saw it in the movies in the "40's" and have not seen it since. Please make it availabe soon on dvd.

  • Smoky 1946

    • Carrie
    • 2/19/11

    This is a great movie! I too have searched and have not found this movie. This movie was on TCM or AMC in 2009, and have continuosly searched to see if it will air again. I have requested to both stations to please air and sell. One of the best parts of the movie is when Burl Ives sings "Cowboys Lament". If you have not heard the song, you have missed one of Burl's best in my opinion.

  • Smoky

    • Judy
    • 12/18/10

    I have been searching for this movie on DVD or VHS for my 10 year old grandson, who is reading the book now. I remember watching this movie as a child and as an adult but it has been so many years since I have seen it. I believe this was one of the most touching horse stories ever written. the bond between this horse and his owner was incredible I didn't know until now that the author himself was a cowboy. Will James really understood the connection between a horse and human when you love horses as he did. Fred MacMurray should have one an academy award or and oscar or what ever for his starring role and now I know why, he retired to ranch. again I never knew he loved that kind of life. I agree with the other reviews This is a top film how can I purchase it or when will TCM play it again? (Some movies can never be remade, there is always something missing or it has been reworked so it is modern some things should never be tampered with)

  • Smoky

    • Bill Bishop
    • 10/26/10

    I think this is a great horse movie up there with the Flicka firms.Why its been lost is far beyone me.

  • Best Horse Movie Ever

    • Gilmore
    • 7/13/09

    As far as I am concerned, there is no other horse movie. The story and the actors, including the horses, are magnificent. The music score by David Raskin, especially, enhances the emotions of the movie. I can only hope that this movie will be released on DVD.

  • Charming classic

    • V
    • 8/9/08

    I loved the book, and have fond memories of watching the movie as a child. This is a great story for horse lovers of all ages. I grew up with horses and have my own adopted Mustang now. I'm so disappointed that this movie is not available for purchase!

  • A Movie I Have Never Forgotten

    • Shirley Yant
    • 3/8/08

    I saw this movie as a child (I'm now 73). What does that tell you about this movie? It out-did Black Beauty with its story line and the beauty of the horse.I am waiting for this to come out on DVD and it will certainly become a favorite of my collection.Thank you for even having it in your archives.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.