skip navigation
The Trouble with Harry

The Trouble with Harry(1955)

Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Trouble with Harry A corpse creates a world of... MORE > $13.97 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • character assination

    • a.morris
    • 12/26/17

    what this story has..are people I do not like in a form of trouble I do not want them to get out of. I will admit..the female lead is someone I have never liked. the lead male talent had no get over factor. the two other main characters came off as being jerky..cowardly in one case..elderly punks. royal dano was way more interesting..he should have been the star..a country version of columbo. he should have bitch slapped santa..kicked Charlie right In his balls..hickory switched granny with an attitude and shot the red headed menace right in her ass. people you do not like effect story ..case closed.

  • Beautiful scenery and music score

    • Jeff Boston
    • 7/22/17

    in this yawner that pays high tribute to Capra and his black humor classic by having a single old man go to a single old woman's home for "perhaps, some elderberry wine." The odd doc is a delight in this film that serves as a relic of a safer and saner time. There's a very young boy (Beav!) walking around in the woods alone (frightful!) with a big toy gun (awful!) and an old man hunting (horrors!). Hitch followed two of his greatest films ("Rear Window" and "Dial M for Murder") by making this small, quirky film (like when he followed "Rebecca" and "Foreign Correspondent" with "Mr. and Mrs. Smith"). The Human Rubble Around Harry has its moments, like when Beav is holding a rabbit and an adult asks "What do you call it?" and Beav answers "Dead." However, the laughs are few and far between, and even though the corpse instills life into lonely people and brings them together, what lingers is the film's base ugliness, almost as pathetic as Sam's paintings.

  • Portrait of a forgotten time not so long ago

    • Beckette
    • 5/7/17

    This is a wry and witty movie . Hitchcock shows his hand as a master of subtlety at some points ,broad humor at others . This farce is gift wrapped in a maple sugar sweet depiction of Vermont , so lovely in the autumn that it makes me homesick for a time and place I never lived through or in. I adore this sweet quirky film . Watching it is quite like a holiday . Beautiful , beautiful photography and highly entertaining characters . Anyone who has ever lived in a small town can identify.

  • The Trouble With Hitchy

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 10/23/14

    Good comedy, even if it's black comedy, has to have some basis in reality. It's characters have to react from a weakness or hubris within themselves yet despite it they are relatable enough for us to root for them as we laugh at the situations they get into. This film, on the other hand, is so unrealistic and full of ZERO-dimensional characters all trying to be simultaneously "shocking" and "slapsticky" that it fails to be anything at all. If you want to laugh at a movie with dead bodies in it, do yourself a favor and check out Frank Capra's Arsenic and Old Lace. The Trouble With Harry is one of Hitchcock's worst attempts, if not THE worst. It's the 1955 equivalent of "Movie 43."

  • The Trouble With Harry

    • dwbw
    • 12/18/12

    The Trouble With Harry is one of my favorites. It is a movie that may have to grow on you. The cast is perfect with great character actors. Everytime I see it I like it more than the last. Watch it and pay attention to all the details and the dialogue! Sooo good!! I like it better than most other Hitchcock movies for the seriousness and the humor! Enjoy some fun with Harry!

  • excellant movie

    • william boisvert
    • 4/29/12

    It's a good look at rural America in the 50's, and I love the Vermont scenery. The actors all familiarI love the fuss, and oblivios situation it involves.Billy

  • The Trouble with Harry

    • Randy Alford
    • 10/22/10

    This is an absolutely great movie although you needto be in the mood to really enjoy it. Maclaine is beauifuland coy,Forsythe plays his role brilliantly. The perfectautumn and holiday film which brings out the beautyof Vermont,the concept of small town gossip and community,the value of love and friendship verses capital andexploitation. Harry himself is an afterthought .The simplicityand ease of life with lemonade,a small child, a localstore without a good cash register and an epic timein American history.

  • the very definition of a dark comedy

    • MrWham
    • 10/1/09

    This is the sort of movie that will not appeal to, or amuse, everyone, but I loved it and laughed often. It epiromizes Hitchcock's dry, sly, slightly morbid sense of humor, which he so often displayed on his TV show. Shirley McClaine is terrifically weird and charming, and the whole cast is top notch. The New England autumn scenery is sumptuously photographed and set to a fine Bernard Hermann score. The dialogue is razor-sharp, with many terrific throw-away lines that will zip right over your head if you aren't paying close attention. This movie could be seen as a not-too-subtle, affectionate satire of stubborn, go-their-own-way New Englanders. It is reminiscent of "Waking Ned Devine" and a host of other small, character-driven European flicks that simultaneously satirize and celebrate the oddball locals of small towns and villages, and the offbeat ways in which they deal with life and death. If you like dark comedy, this is an essential, genre-defining film. Compared to other later Hithcock fare, such as the fun-but-fluffy "To Catch A Thief," this film may reflect the "true" Alfred Hitchcock."

  • NOT A COMEDY - LITTLE TO LAUGH AT

    • Jordan
    • 9/17/09

    "The Trouble With Harry" is not my idea of a comedy as there was very little to laugh at. The colorful fall foliage is quite eye catching as is seeing Jerry Mathers, John Forsythe and Shirley MacLaine in their much younger days. Edmund Gwenn as the Captain was an intersting character. I can't imagine being silly enough to bury and dig up and bury and dig up and bury and dig up a corpse that just appears in a field - with everybody feeling responsible. This movie will pass some time - but it is silly and nothing to write home about.

  • Shocking isn't it

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 7/13/08

    ...that the film didn't fare well in the theatres upon its original release. This is Hitchcock at his best...the morbid humor, the excellent ensemble cast. Each character represents a different view of the late title character, Harry. It's a fantastic study of human behaviors when confronted with death, which is normally a topic that is not considered humorous. Maybe that's why audiences were reluctant to embrace it? Time has shown us the mastery of Hitch's technique and puts this film in a category of classics. What I really love about this film is how European it seems, but with American sensibilities. The single greatest scene is when Harry's body is in the bathtub and Jerry Mathers' character is supposedly playing with a frog when the doctor comes. It is so subtly played by the cast, and the humor...well, it'll make you die laughing.

  • My favourite Hitchcock movie

    • John Klintworth
    • 9/28/07

    Great scenery of New England autumn and a truly charming cast and wonderful twisted casual story about a corpse that won't stay buried and that's about it but ....the magic of wonderful Edmund Gwenn falling for the fantastic yet eccentric charms of Mildred Natwick, the lovely underplayed romance between John Forsythe and a very young Shirley MacLaine in her film debut, the astonishing cuteness of Jerry Mathers before he was "Beaver". Hitchcock makes use of his cast wonderfully in this movie. What this movie has is humour and atmosphere and that's why it's so fun to watch.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.